Saturday 2017

The main race of the night was the 2 Litre National Saloon Scottish Championship and the grid was made up by drivers who had qualified for the meeting. Eck Cunningham and Kyle Irvine shared the front row with Ian McLaughlin on row 3, Luke Grief and Ross Watters on row 4 whilst the defending champion Paul Honeyman was on the last row of the grid. It was drizzling and the track greasy as the cars set off with Irvine making the better of the starts to lead Cunningham into the first bend Kevin Letford was hit by Tam Rutherford Jnr which delayed Graeme Anderson. Irvine was easing away from Cunningham but Grief was making up ground quickly forcing his way ahead of Ross Graham. Rutherford Jnr spun and restarted whilst Grief moved into second place and then closed down Irvine. A couple of laps later Irvine was forced wide as Grief moved into the lead whilst McLaughlin was running in close order with Watters and Graham and they too were slowly closing in on Irvine. Kevin Letford was pushed wide but up front Grief was pulling away from Irvine quickly. The gap between Irvine and McLaughlin, who still hadn’t shaken off Watters was closing quickly whilst Rutherford Jnr was clipped and bounced off a marker tyre. James Letford bounced off the wall on the turnstile bend as McLaughlin sent Irvine wide to grab second spot. However by then Grief was well clear and took the chequer to become the 2017 Scottish Champion with McLaughlin ended up in second spot just clear of Irvine and Watters. However the dreaded post race scrutineering came into play for the second year running with the first two cars home falling foul of the weighing limits thus promoting Irvine to first and the Scottish Champion from Watters and Graham.

In the Allcomers heats the first saw Grief go through to win from McLaughlin and Irvine. However in Allcomers 2, Grief was sent wide by Paul Honeyman on the last bend as he went on to win from Irvine and a recovering Grief.
The National Hot Rods were contesting another World Championship qualifying round with Ian Donaldson Jnr making his debut at the Racewall.

Robert McDonald went on to win the opening race from Graeme Callender and Ian Donaldson but at the close of the race Ross McWilliam spun and was promptly collected by Donaldson Jnr. McDonald made it two in succession when he went through to win heat two from Donaldson and Jim Cowie. McDonald started from pole in the final and went straight into the lead from Donaldson and they soon eased away from the field. Most of the action came during the closing laps when Ian McGuigan got ahead of Roy Anderson and then on the last bend Callender managed to dive inside to claim fourth but by then McDonald had picked up an easy win over Donaldson in the Dechmont Forklift Truck sponsored final.

There was another good turn out of minis for their East of Scotland Championship The drawn grid paired Luke McCallum and Steven Burgoyne on the front row of the grid with Sean Naismith on row five.
Burgoyne went straight into the lead when the final started with Michael Mitchell in second and Charlie Folan on his back bumper and they ran in this formation for lap after lap. Naismith was making up ground but so too was Teri Linden who started from the rear of the grid appearing in eighth place. When Mitchell lost a wheel and Burgoyne clashed with a back marker and spun the race had to be suspended. On the restart Folan led but then lost out to Naismith but they then squabbled over the lead. Folan was looking to get back into the lead and this he did with only a lap to run. Linden moved into third but on the last bend Folan was shunted wide which allowed Naismith to sneak through to win but only just from Folan with Linden in third.
In their first Allcomers race Burgoyne went on to win from Naismith and Danny Whyte. The second Allcomers heat saw Burgoyne again get the better of Naismith to win with Folan in third spot.

There were only four formula II drivers at the track where Colin Stewart won the white/yellow challenge final from Brian Hogg Jnr and Les Smart. Hogg Jnr then won heat one from Robbie Dawson and Stewart whilst Dawson won heat two from Hogg Jnr and Stewart. Dawson then won the final where he led home Hogg Jnr and Smart.

The microf2 drivers again turned up in their numbers although in heat when it was greasy the youngsters struggled a bit on the wet surface. Their races were sponsored by Apex Garden Buildings with each driver receiving a memento at the end of the meeting. The first heat saw Ross McLaughlin go through to win from Lewis Walker and Mark Arthur. The second race was suspended after a couple of cars touched and spun but on the restart Walker went on to win from Rebecca Reid and Sam Critchley. The third heat saw David Philp Jnr go straight into the lead and whilst he built up a useful lead as the race progressed the lead began to dwindle. On the last lap Todd Anderson, Callan Walker and Reid had caught up with him but Philp Jnr held his line and as the cars crossed the finish line he was just ahead with Anderson looking for a way through and Walker and Reid jockeying for position.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
WY Final 191 192 751 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Heat 1 192 854 191 751 0 0 0 0 0 0
Heat 2 854 192 191 751 0 0 0 0 0 0
Final 854 192 751 191 0 0 0 0 0 0

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
SC 85 670 671 507 38 207 45 229 73 640
AC1 219 684 85 507 229 5 640 0 0 0
AC2 507 85 219 684 229 777 640 0 0 0


Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
EoS 100 546 623 126 604 607 43 629 641 0
Heat 1 674 100 126 546 607 622 687 43 42 604
Heat 2 674 100 546 126 607 188 604 42 0 0

National Hot Rods

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 117 871 700 36 77 308 0 0 0 0
Heat 2 117 700 308 36 77 0 0 0 0 0
Final 117 700 77 871 36 308 0 0 0 0

Micro F2s

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 828 546 239 233 165 187 225 484 253 309
Heat 2 151 17 64 233 50 165 828 239 187 253
Heat 3 299 50 233 17 165 239 828 484 151 858