Saturday 2018

The stock cars returned to the Cowdenbeath Racewall and whilst the meeting started out in bright sunny weather by the half distance the blue sky was replaced by dark clouds and some heavy rain!

Josh Heeps dominated the Micro Banger Scottish Supreme Championship leading the race for most of the time although towards the close he was being chased down by Stevie Allan.

Stevie Allan and Sean Riddell managed to roll their Micro Bangers in separate incidents whilst there were shunts and spins throughout their races. Greg Honeyman and Tam Rutherford Jnr had a fall out with Honeyman pushing the Rutherford car around the track for over a lap before they stopped at the end of the back straight.

There were last lap shoot outs in the 2 Litre National and the 1300 Saloons whilst when the rain started to fall a whole number of drivers were left stranded in the pits when the gate was closed!

The Classic Hot Rod drivers were in good form and even the deteriorating weather didn’t dampen their racing with Escorts, Anglias, Chevette and Sunbeam in action.

There was a big turn out of the 2 Litre National Saloons on their last outing prior to their Scottish Championship although amongst their numbers was Carl Waterfield from Ely but he only managed to complete around three laps in all of his races!

The opening heat saw Jamie Reid lead until, around the half distance and then lose out to Jason Secker who soon pulled away from the field. However when Euan Mathieson was hit by another car the race was suspended. Secker’s lead had disappeared but despite having Paul Honeyman and Ian McLaughlin in close order went on to win whilst McLaughlin just forced his way ahead of P. Honeyman to snatch second. Heat two saw the cars trundle onto the track as the rain began to fall and as a result only half the field started the race. This time Rutherford Jnr led for most of the race but lost out to P. Honeyman during the closing stages with Barry Glen finishing in third spot.

Reid was the first to show when the final started but when Ally Strachan bounced off the wall and spun the race was suspended. On the restart Rutherford Jnr moved ahead but when Alan Ainslie was spun the race was suspended once again. Rutherford Jnr again led but this time Secker forced his way through and even with Luke Grief moving into second continued to maintain a useful gap to pick up his second win of the night over Grief and Aaryn Triggs.

Ross Watters went through to win the Allcomers race from Secker and Grief.

The 1300 Saloon drivers were having another of their gold roof rounds with Peter Low, Colin Thomson and Sandy Dalrymple in their ranks.

Heat one ended with another last lap shoot out but it had looked as if Alan Robertson had the race there for the taking. However Gordon Myers drifted wide, bounced off the wall with his car shedding a wheel and suspending the race. Robertson’s lead had gone and whilst he led the field away he was shunted wide as James Ellis went through to win from Low and Dale Burt with Robertson dropping to fourth. Heat two saw Fraser Clark move ahead during the closing stages to win from Burt and Low.

Burt was soon ahead when the final started but Aaron Hastie was on a charge and soon caught up with the leader. However when Hastie made his bid for the lead the cars touched resulting in Hastie spinning out of the race. Burt continued on his way to win from Clark and Low but Ellis was pushed around the track over the last few laps by McGowan dropping down the order as they did so.

The Classic Hot Rods thrilled the fans with fast and exciting racing in both the dry and wet conditions. Adrian Taber was up from Diss with his Escort.

The opening heat developed into a close dice between Alex Wilson and Keith Chesher with Wilson just fending off Chesher’s attentions to win with Brett Sneddon in third spot. Heat two was almost a rerun of heat one with Wilson again winning from Chesher but this time Kenny Purdie was third.

Trevor Harris made the better of the starts to a wet final leading Taber and Marc Spence but Purdie made a good start and was quickly catching those ahead. Purdie appeared in second and was closing in on Harris who ended up spinning entering the main straight. Purdie just drove away from the pack but Matt MacPherson, who started from the back of the grid, was making short work of those ahead and soon appeared in second. Purdie then reeled off the remaining laps to win from MacPherson and Taber.

There were 29 Micro Bangers on the track for their Scottish Supreme Championship and when the green flag dropped the mayhem began with cars spinning in all directions on the main straight. Josh Heeps was the first to show with the top bend beginning to look like a parking lot! Sean Riddell clipped another car on the back straight, rolled then carried on when the car landed on its four wheels! When Josh Butler was sent spinning the race was stopped to extinguish a brief fire under his car, Heeps led on the restart from Scott Wilson with Mark Morrison in third but John Riddell was then sent spinning by Morrison who slowed. Stevie Allan caught Butler and then started to close the gap to Heeps. Kieran McKay moved into fourth and then third as Heeps went through to win from Allen and McKay.

After Allen had been caught up in an eleven car shunt on the top bend and rolled the Allcomers 1 heat was restarted with McKay the leader but Scott Lindsell caught and passed him and went through to win from David Linton and Lee Kopacz.

Linton then led the Allcomers race from start to finish crossing the line ahead of Heeps and Sean McConnachie but as the cars started their Destruction Derby, Linton was hit head on by Callum Brown. The race was stopped and Linton was cut out of his car before being transferred to hospital for a check up. It was later confirmed that he had suffered a broken ankle, wrist and scaphoid.

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 529 684 507 670 661 620 400 107 85 38
Heat 2 507 5 38 207 241 8 0 0 0 0
Final 529 219 620 661 96 507 107 0 0 0
AC 670 529 219 620 661 96 777 0 0 0

1300 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 314 631 870 19 668 211 73 246 276 642
Heat 2 668 870 631 314 211 246 73 66 642 0
Final 870 668 631 246 153 66 314 211 0 0

Micro Bangers

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Supreme 134 456 397 754 27 642 88 0 0 0
AC1 83 297 133 180 397 159 0 0 0 0
AC2 297 134 180 159 133 36 0 0 0 0

Classic Hot Rods

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 58 162 232 116 12 84 0 0 0 0
Heat 2 58 162 17 232 12 116 523 84 0 0
Final 17 523 116 162 232 756 0 0 0 0