Saturday 2018

There was plenty of drama at the Cowdenbeath Racewall stock car meeting on a warm and sunny Saturday night and a bit of controversy thrown in for good measure!

In the 2 Litre National Saloons Euan Mathieson was excluded from the results after winning the first heat when his transponder wasn’t fitted and then Billy Bonnar was docked a place in the National Hot Rod Final after contact. John Tosh was in a big shunt when his wheel shed a wheel in the Hot Saloons and as a result he crashed heavily into the pit bend and his car veered across the rack in a cloud of steam.

In the BriSCA Formula IIs the last lap of the Turner trophy proved to be a bit hectic with Gregor Turner leading going into the last bend with Chris Burgoyne trying to pass on the inside. The cars touched with disastrous results. Turner spun but Burgoyne crashed heavily and Steven Burgoyne end up beside him.

The Heritage Formula II drivers were making their annual appearance to Scotland for their Scottish Open with Charlie Barnes going through to win.

There were guest appearances from Louise Goodman and David Addison from ITV4 Sports and they presented the trophies to the Hot Rod and the Heritage winners.

There was a good turnout of formula II drivers to the track with Colin Gregg heading north from York. Emma Mellis had brought out her recently acquired car whilst the local drivers on the grid were.

Heat one saw Turner lead but when Pete Davidson ended up against the turnstile bend wall the race was suspended. Although Turner led the field away he was caught and passed by C. Burgoyne during the closing stages. Once ahead C. Burgoyne went on to win from Turner and Euan Millar. Daniel Scrimgeour was soon leading heat two but when Peter Watt’s car broke a half shaft and stopped the race was suspended. No sooner had the race restarted than it was stopped again this time after Colin Forbes spun and was collected by Ian Thompson. It was C. Burgoyne who led the field away and he went on to win his second race from Millar and Craig Wallace.

The final was for the Turner trophy and whilst Craig Reid led initially he soon had to give best to Turner who had Scrimgeour in tow. Liam Rennie was leading the red grade drivers chase although he soon had C. Burgoyne in close order. Turner then saw his lead disappear after a three car shunt on the turnstile bend which suspended the race. On the restart Turner led from Scrimgeour but C. Burgoyne was soon closing the gap and then moved into second. The gap between the leaders began to close and when they started the last lap the cars were running nose to tail. Burgoyne tried to move Turner over on the pit bend but he held on. Going down the back straight Turner was still ahead but Burgoyne was on the inside line. As they headed into the Turnstile bend Turner turned in to take his line but C. Burgoyne was almost alongside and as a result when the cars touched the Burgoyne car collected a marker tyre and shot across the track. Turner’s car spun whilst Steven Burgoyne, who had been third ended up in the wall beside his brother. Whilst all this was happening Liam Rennie sailed through to win from Wallace and Millar.

Scrimgeour then went on to win the Grand National from Millar and Garry Sime with Rennie coming through into ninth place.

There was another good turn out of 2 Litre National saloons but surprisingly only one red grade driver coming in the form of Kyle Irvine. Local

Graeme Anderson, Eck Cunningham and Tam Rutherford Jnr tangled almost as soon as the race head started but within a few laps Euan Mathieson was leading and he was still there at the close. However his transponder wasn’t working and he was excluded from the race elevating second places James Letford into the winners circle. Aaryn Triggs ended up second with Greg Honeyman third. At the start to heat two Holly Glen, Mathieson, Cunningham tangled on the pit bend but managed to get their cars to safety as the field charged through. Anderson led but when Ross Forrest’s car ended up against the wall the race was suspended. On the restart Anderson went through to win from Greg Honeyman and Willie Mitchell.

When the final started Kevin Letford got ahead of Raymond Dick to lead whilst behind Cunningham moved into second. Irvine was making inroads through the field although he had G. Honeyman in close order. With four laps Cunningham had caught K. Letford and had moved ahead the following lap. Once there he went through to win the Turner trophy from Irvine and Jason Secker.

There weren’t too many National Hot rods about for their World Championship round which saw Billy Bonnar win the first from Ross McWilliam and Roy Anderson whilst in heat two Bonnar again won from McWilliam and Anderson.

Anderson failed to appear for the final but during the opening laps Steven Armit and Bonnar made contact resulting in the former spinning. McWilliam led for a good part of the race but was passed by Bonnar who went on to collect the chequer. However Bonnar received a penalty and it was McWilliam who won the Turner trophy from Bonnar and Ian McGuigan.

The Hot Saloons were down from Crimond but within the opening lap Iain Whitecross had spun and hit the marker tyre. A few laps later John Tosh lost a wheel and crashed heavily into the wall, retiring in a cloud of smoke.

Scott Forsyth won the opening heat from Laird Ally Fleming whilst heat two went to Mark Mathers who led home Mark Farquhar and Forsyth. The final went to Farquhar who fended off Forsyth and Fleming.

The Heritage Formula II drivers were having their annual Scottish visit with Phil Hiles winning heat one from Ian Johnson and Jack Bunter, Charlie Barnes then won his first ever race when he came out on top in heat two where he led home Hiles and Bunter.

Barnes then went on to win the Open Scottish Championship from Phil Hickerton and Alan Humphrey.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 647 391 629 901 16 674 480 17 236 419
Heat 2 647 629 16 3 480 652 674 305 236 391
Final 3 16 629 652 305 236 17 621 391 922
GN 236 629 480 16 652 419 17 305 3 621

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 73 620 207 529 107 85 38 96 640 507
Heat 2 229 207 96 73 85 640 45 5 241 301
Final 45 85 529 620 507 229 96 73 125 107

National Hot Rods

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 844 330 36 94 77 0 0 0 0 0
Heat 2 844 330 36 77 94 0 0 0 0 0
Final 330 77 844 94 0 0 0 0 0 0

Hot Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 11 38 55 89 51 43 0 0 0 0
Heat 2 55 16 11 38 51 89 43 0 0 0
Heat 3 16 11 38 55 51 89 43 0 0 0

Heritage F2

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 218 347 128 537 59 342 559 23 253 311
Heat 2 537 218 128 64 253 59 347 559 886 23
SC 537 559 253 59 64 311 886 347 23 0