Saturday 2019

It was another good night’s stock car racing at the Cowdenbeath Racewall on a dry but chilly Saturday evening. The drivers reveled on a dry track surface although when some oil was dropped onto the track it made life a bit difficult for the drivers.

Tam Rutherford Jnr dominated the 2 litre Saloon races when he went on to win all three whilst Gordon Moodie won two of the Formula II races, one which was the final.

There was a good field of Prostock Basic drivers for their opening meeting – quite a few new faces and new cars. Two drivers won on their first outing in the formula which is now non contact.

There weren’t too many Micro Banger drivers around but that didn’t stop contact with Stevie Allan and James Dillon having a coming together on the pit bend then three car shunt in the following race.

In the Formula IIs Peter Watt and Steven Burgoyne were having their first run of the season whilst Dave Waterhouse and Martin Bentley had made the trip from the North of England.

Heat one saw Craig Reid go straight into the lead and he was initially chased by Pete Davidson although it wasn’t too long before Garry Sime was through into second spot. On lap twelve there was a race suspension after Bentley had spun and was then collected when C. Reid and Euan Millar locked up and slid into him. On the restart Sime was soon caught by Craig Wallace and Gordon Moodie with Wallace hanging on to win from Moodie and Liam Rennie. In heat two Bentley was the initial leader but again lost out to Sime. Sime led until the closing stages when he was caught and passed by Moodie. Sime held on to finish in second spot despite having Wallace reel him in at a fast rate of knots.

Waterhouse made his first appearance when the final started but it was Bentley who led the field away from Watt. Sime had made a good start from the blue grade and was soon closing in on the leaders. However Moodie had made a good start from the back of the grid getting ahead of Wallace and Robbie Dawson quickly. Moodie’s charge from the back of the grid was certainly quick and he got ahead of Wallace and Robbie Dawson in quick succession before catching Euan Millar. Once he did that he began to reel in the cars ahead and soon appeared in second spot. The gap to Sime quickly closed but towards the end Millar and Rennie touched which saw the latter having to retire. Once Moodie hit the front he pulled away to win from Sime and Wallace.

Burgoyne then went on to win the Grand National from Millar and Sime with Moodie finishing in sixth place from his lap handicap.

There were a few of the regular 2 litre Saloon drivers missing but Andrew Mathieson was making his first appearance of the season.

Johnny Wood led the opening heat until just after the half distance when he was forced wide as Tam Rutherford Jnr took the lead. Graeme Shevill worked his way through the field to appear in second but by then Rutherford Jnr was well clear and on his way to his first win of the night. Shevill brought his car home in second place with Wood in third spot. Heat two saw Rutherford Jnr soon through into the lead but there was a cracking dice between Ross Watters and Ian McLaughlin with the drivers swapping places on a regular basis. Euan Mathieson and Holly Glen had a coming together on the turnstile bend and retired whilst Shevill dropped a few places after being shunted off line. In the end Rutherford Jnr picked up his second win this time leading home McLaughlin and Watters.

Wood had a diff seize as he drove to the start line and whilst Holly Glen led initially within a lap Rutherford Jnr was ahead. McLaughlin sent Watters wide as he moved up a spot with Shevill also getting ahead of Watters. Rutherford Jnr was dominating and he went through to win the final by a big margin over McLaughlin with Watters fending off Shevill to claim third place.

The Prostock Basic drivers turned up in their numbers for their opening meeting of the season which saw quite a few new faces on the grid and some very smart looking cars.

David Sher led the field away in heat one but towards the end of the race was held up when lapping back markers allowing Dean Whiteley through to win from Jake Mason and Callum Rennie. In heat two it was Rennie led for most of the race and in the end he won from David van Dieken and William Crawford.

Van Dieken led the field away when the final started but when Jordan Dignan’s car stopped on the main straight the race was suspended. Van Dieken led on the restart but soon afterwards there was another stoppage when Stephen Graham spun his car on the pit bend and it wouldn’t restart. Van Dieken this time came under pressure from Crawford with Graham Dignan in third. Ben Sher spun but was able to restart with John Rankin making inroads through the field. As the laps dwindle the lead cars were soon nose to tail with Rankin forcing his way through on the pit bend to win from Crawford and van Dieken.

There weren’t too many Micro Bangers around but they were quickly into action.

The opening heat saw Stevie Allan and James Dillon clash on the pit bend and then when Allan stopped on the turnstile bend only to be collected by Brian Youngson. Kenneth Scollon went on to win from Callum Campbell and Ryan Martin. Scollon, Lee Burden and Jon Taylor ended up in a heap on the pit bend at the start to heat two. Campbell led the race from start to finish winning easily from Ryan Burden and Scollon.

Campbell then led the final from start to finish winning from Scollon and Liam Glendinning.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 16 7 3 854 629 236 17 41 982 280
Heat 2 7 480 629 674 16 854 17 236 982 280
Final 7 480 16 41 236 629 854 674 17 982
GN 674 629 480 16 854 7 236 982 17 19

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 5 661 667 125 38 73 922 0 0 0
Heat 2 5 684 670 667 38 661 95 922 0 0
Final 5 684 670 661 38 8 922 95 0 0

Micro Bangers

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 118 159 3 26 36 58 0 0 0 0
Heat 2 159 36 118 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Final 159 118 27 274 0 0 0 0 0 0

Prostock Basics

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 320 761 764 251 420 834 240 663 717 999
Heat 2 764 420 663 640 240 999 717 320 700 638
Final 165 663 420 761 638 700 50 246 0 0