Saturday 2019

What an exciting night’s racing it turned out to be at the Cowdenbeath Racewall on Saturday night with two rollovers, plenty of shunts and spins in a 19 race programme.

Spare a thought though for Aidan McFerran who brought his Formula II car over from Northern Ireland and never managed a race. McFerran tangled during the practice session and ended up injuring his wrist!

Worse was to follow for Ministox driver Jamie Dawson who wrecked his car during the practice session when he tried to miss a slower car, over corrected hit a marker tyre and rolled spectacularly. The practice claimed a third victim when Barry Glen broke his gearbox but a quick trip to Dundee saw a replacement fitted prior to the start of the meeting!

Gregor Turner was having his first outing of the season in the Formula IIs and promptly won both of his heats and then the final whilst Tam Rutherford Jnr won two Saloons heats, and Lewis Clark Burgoyne a heat and a final in the Minis whilst Liam McGill did likewise in the ORCi Stock rods.

Dave Waterhouse and Matt Stoneman were welcome visitors from South of the Border whilst Chris Burgoyne, Emma Mellis were like Turner having their first outing of the season.

The first heat saw Turner soon go through into the lead and once there went through for a comfortable win over Gordon Moodie and Steven Burgoyne. Despite having to start from the back of his grade Turner made a god start to the race before going on to claim his second win of the night this time leading home Steven Burgoyne and Garry Sime.

When the final started Pete Davidson led the field away and whilst Mellis was soon through into second she had Turner in close order. S. Burgoyne was leading the red graders as they set off after the cars ahead. Turner caught and passed both Mellis then Davidson in quick succession to take the lead with Sime closing in Davidson. Peter Watt slowed to retire but Sime was being reeled by S. Burgoyne. Mellis was spun with S. Burgoyne appearing in second place. However there was a comfortable gap between the two leading cars with Turner going through for his third win of the night where he led home S. Burgoyne with Moodie claiming third during the closing stages of the race.

David Vaughan was a welcome visitor in the 2 Litre Saloons whilst Andrew Mathieson brought out his old car repanelled and sign written. Jordan Cassie was back out although he didn’t have any luck breaking a drive shaft in heat one then rolling the car during the final.

In the opening heat there was a nail biting finish with five drivers in with a chance of winning. Willie Mitchell had just got ahead of Tam Rutherford Jnr on the last bend and as he did so Euan Mathieson spun. Rutherford Jnr made with Mitchell as they headed into the main straight sending him spinning which allowed him through to pick up the win. Ian McLaughlin moved into second with Ryan Muirhead in third spot. Rutherford Jnr had a slightly easier win in heat two when he led home McLaughlin and Aaryn Triggs.

The ORCi Stock Rod races were being sponsored by JMC Hydrographics who had not only added to the prize fund for each race but had donated a tyre to the winner of the final. Making their first appearances of the season were Neil Gilogley, David Kempton, Stuart McKinnon and Paul Prentice

Heat one saw Liam McGill go through to win from Dean McGill and Leon Stewart. It looked as if Liam McGill was going to win heat two only for his car to shed a wheel and whilst D. McGill was first home he was penalised for an infringement with the win going to Michael Bethune from James Gray with D. McGill demoted to third.

The final was dominated by Liam McGill who led from start to finish to win from McKinnon and D. McGill but towards the end of the race Gray and Cameron Doak tangled resulting in the Gray car bouncing off the wall.

There was a good turnout of Ministox drivers with Euan Doull making his debut.

The opening heat saw Taylor Borthwick go through to win from Declan Honeyman and Robbie Armit. In heat two Lewis Clark Burgoyne picked up his first win of the night when he led home Borthwick and Kai Gilmour.

The final saw Armit take an early lead from Jay Carruthers but he was being closed down by Brandon Morton. However on the back straight Armit tangled with Charlie Faichney forcing both drivers to retire from the race. This let Burgoyne take the lead and he went through to win from Honeyman and Borthwick.

There were 33 Micro F2 drivers in action and there races were sponsored by Lawsons Garage of Methven There was some really close dicing from the youngsters although there were a few shunts and spins thrown in for good measure.

The first heat, for the white/yellow grade drivers saw Chris Davidson Jnr go through to win from Ben McLellan and Finlay Gemmell. The Blue/red drivers appeared for heat two where Joelan Maynard from Oliver Heron and Callan Walker. Heat three ended with Ethan Jack Gemmell coming out on top from Walker and Davidson Jnr. Maynard picked up his second win of the night in heat four winning from Heron and Mark Arthur.

Heron then won the fifth heat where he finished ahead of Charlie Burgoyne and Maynard.

The last race of the night ended with Alfie Key coming out on top and he led home Walker and Bobby Brandon.

This Saturday the BriSCA Formula II and Stock Rod drivers are back in action but this time they are backed by the 1300 Saloons and Prostocks.

The 1300 saloons are starting their Gold Roof Qualifying Series and hopefully there will be a good turnout of cars. The meeting starts at 6.00pm

The Unlimited Banger drivers are beginning to book in for their World Cup and already with a fortnight remaining it’s shaping up to be an unmissable event.


BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 391 7 674 629 480 16 127 854 41 236
Heat 2 391 674 480 7 629 621 236 41 647 16
Final 391 674 7 480 16 127 629 236 647 17
GN 674 7 127 480 236 629 16 854 621 391

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 5 684 648 620 661 470 96 124 670 38
Heat 2 5 684 620 125 661 124 670 8 38 470
Final 620 684 661 5 125 38 8 470 648 96


Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 629 607 684 188 122 128 178 645 50 603
Heat 2 647 629 122 188 645 128 50 603 21 607
Final 647 607 629 50 603 645 21 699 188 0

Stock Rods

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 62 263 612 216 351 363 197 317 41 40
Heat 2 83 197 263 644 317 612 257 444 216 0
Final 62 41 263 216 83 40 317 240 257 686