Saturday 2019

There was a healthy turn out of cars in all the formulae at the Cowdenbeath Racewall on Saturday night but the weather didn’t play ball and the drivers had to combat some driving rain showers from time to time. The track was wet and greasy although that made for some very exciting racing.

The BriSCA Formula II drivers were contesting a World Championship Qualifying Round with the home drivers coming out on top in all of the races. Gordon Moodie, who won the final, chalked up his 450th final win.

There was plenty of action in their races with Gregor Turner having to retire in both heats, Garry Sime in heat two whilst Ross Rowe and Dennis Middler crashed heavily in separate incidents in the Final.

Paul and Greg Honeyman returned to the Saloons but the latter was in a hefty shunt during the closing stages of the Final. Earlier Ally Strachan was in the midst of a three car pileup and needed help out of his car.

The Stock Rod and Prostock Basic drivers were in fine form despite the conditions and served up some close and fast racing.

Amongst the visitors at the track for the Formula II World Championship Qualifying Round were Ross Rowe, Craig Driscoll, Martin Ford, Ben Lockwood and Rob Mitchell whilst Chris Burgoyne had switched from Pinto to Zetec power

It turned out to be an all in format with a public draw within grades for the Final. The drivers were left to ponder what the elements were going to throw at them when they lined up for heat one.

Right at the start to heat one Gregor Turner was spun and before he could restart he was hit by Dennis Middler who had been sent bouncing off the wall and his car shed a wheel. Shortly after the restart Blair Anderson and Ryan Farquhar tangled suspending the race. Craig Reid led them off but was soon overtaken by Garry Sime who then dominated the race going on to win from Daniel Scrimgeour and Chris Burgoyne. Heat two had not long started before Pete Davidson got clipped whilst running in a group of cars and spun with the front end of his car suffering damage. Once the race restarted Turner and Martin Ford tangled on the main straight and then a few laps later Liam Rennie and Sime tangled and spun on the main straight suspending the race. Once the race restarted Scrimgeour managed to make a break before going through to win from Middler and Robbie Dawson.

Reid led the final away from Driscoll but Middler was an early casualty. Moodie had made a good start and had quickly worked his way through the superstar drivers and was also making short work of the star drivers. However when Rowe crashed heavily into the turnstile bend wall the race was suspended. Rennie had just got himself the lead and whilst he got away well on the restart he had to give best to Moodie who, after taking the lead, eased away from the field. In the end Moodie went through to win from Rennie and Euan Millar.
Rennie then won the Grand National from Scrimgeour and Craig Wallace.

Amongst the 2 litre Saloon drivers were Greg and Paul Honeyman and Kevin Letford who were having their first outing of the season.

The opening heat saw Forrest go through to win from the Honeyman’s Paul and Greg. In heat two Letford and Holly Glen were early spinners but half way through the race Chris Carey was clipped and pushed sideways down the back straight. In the end Andrew Mathieson took the chequer having led the race from start to finish and he led home G. Honeyman and Ross Watters.

The final was suspended early on after a shunt with Strachan needing assistance out of his car whilst Forrest’s car stopped against the pit gate having the gear lever disappear. A. Mathieson led but then lost out to G. Honeyman but he had Watters making up ground and soon the cars were running nose to tail. Eventually Watters made contact sending the leader crashing into the wall.

Watters led on the restart and went through to win from Graeme Shevill and Willie Mitchell.

The non-contact Stock Rod drivers served up some close and exciting racing with Lee Buchan, Chris Chance and Justin Lithgow having their first outings of the season. Despite the treacherous conditions the drivers found that the fastest line was close to the wall as they could get making life a bit interesting. John McAllister was having his first home outing since winning the ORCi Championship at Northampton.

Scott Galbraith led the opening heat from start to finish and he crossed the finish line ahead of Liam and Dean McGill. In heat two there was a race suspension after Lithgow spun and was collected. On the restart D. McGill made what was deemed to be too good a start and whilst he was first home he was penalised a couple of places handing the win to World Champion Lee McGill who was clear of Stuart McKinnon.

Galbraith was soon leading when the final started but within a couple of laps Liam McGill had caught and passed him. Galbraith slotted in behind the leader and soon became the meat in a McGill sandwich when Dean appeared in third. Lee McGill was making up ground but Cameron Doak spun and whilst he restarted had lost places. McKinnon was another on the move and he appeared in fourth during the closing stages however there was to be no change in the order with Liam McGill winning from Galbraith and Dean McGill.

There were a few new faces in the Prostock Basics with the drivers coping well with the conditions.

Jake Mason won the opening heat from David Sher and Scott Rankin. However it was D. Sher who just managed to fend off Mason to win heat two with Ben Sher in third spot.

Sher made a good start to the final and came from row three into the lead by the end of the first lap and was able to open up a useful lead. Mason tried to reduce the gap and whilst he was able to do so was still adrift of D. Sher when the chequer fell with Megan Wilson in third spot.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 480 236 647 674 629 16 7 3 217 105
Heat 2 236 41 854 16 7 629 251 647 905 850
Final 7 3 629 647 854 16 251 17 391 618
GN 3 236 16 629 854 905 618 419 237 0

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 400 507 207 670 661 600 38 229 96 640
Heat 2 124 207 670 96 400 661 229 125 667 600
Final 670 661 96 507 125 640 95 0 0 0

Stock Rods

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 691 62 263 41 363 351 83 612 197 216
Heat 2 363 41 263 62 691 351 272 216 83 612
Final 62 691 263 41 363 351 83 272 197 40

Prostock Basics

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 761 251 164 638 56 240 26 0 0 0
Heat 2 251 761 717 165 834 638 56 764 240 640
Final 251 761 246 700 165 638 56 285 0 0