Saturday 2019

It was one of these nights at the Cowdenbeath Racewall with the 2 Litre Saloon drivers topping the bill with some outrageous action. It started with Greg Honeyman being sent crashing heavily into the wall during the opening saloon heat by Tam Rutherford Jnr but the action exploded in heat two when G. Honeyman spun Tam Rutherford Snr and then hit his car next time around. Honeyman then charged around the track and hit the car of Rutherford Jnr as the cars were being lined up for the restart of the race.

Holly Glen was sent crashing heavily into the wall on the pit bend and needed help to get out of her car whilst at the end of the Ministox final Michael Gordon and Scott Allardyce tangled on the slow down lap with Allardyce rolling and after Gordon hitting the wall he required assistance out of his car. Robbie Armit was also in the wars being spun and as a result his car bounced off a marker tyre and was the collected by a spinning Declan Honeyman.

After the Formula II World Championship Qualifying rounds there were a few drivers missing but the new gradings had seen Daniel Scrimgeour move up to Superstar, Garry Sime to red and Craig Reid to the yellow grade.

Heat one saw Steven Burgoyne go through to win from Gordon Moodie and Emma Mellis. In heat two Moodie got the better of the early exchanges to win from Burgoyne and Mellis.

Mellis led the field away when the final started from Peter Watt but whilst Moodie had made a good start from the back of the grid so did Burgoyne. Sime slowed to retire whilst Burgoyne made short work of getting through into the lead. Despite Moodie appearing in second spot Burgoyne went through to win from Moodie with Euan Millar bringing his car home in third spot.

Liam Rennie then went on to win the Grand National where he led home Millar and Mellis with Burgoyne in fourth place.

There were 20 2 Litre Saloons in action and again the new grades were in place with Tam Rutherford Jnr and Graeme Anderson moving to the red grade with Peter Marioni going up to yellow.

Heat one saw the first of the hits between Greg Honeyman and Tam Rutherford Jnr when the latter sent him crashing heavily into the wall and out of the race, After that there was an interesting dice between Paul Honeyman and Ian McLaughlin with the latter getting into the lead during the closing stages to win from P. Honeyman and Barry Russell. Heat two turned out to be quite a race for more reasons than one with the race having to be suspended after Holly Glen was sent crashing heavily into the wall and required assistance out of her car. On the restart Rutherford Snr was sent into a spin by G. Honeyman and when he moved into the area behind the goals and was collected again by Honeyman. The race was suspended but G. Honeyman charged around the track and into the side of Rutherford Jnr’s car and then pulled off the track. There were a few exchanges between the drivers before the race restarted with P. Honeyman going through to win from Russell and McLaughlin.

From the 20 who started the meeting only 13 made it onto the grid for the final which was led off by Ross Forrest. P. Honeyman was sent spinning on the main straight but further back Russell was leading the charge through the field although he had McLaughlin in close order. Forrest was caught and pushed wide as Russell led but McLaughlin was looking for a way through and with only a handful of laps remaining McLaughlin sent Russell spinning on the turnstile bend. After that McLaughlin went through to win from Ross Watters and Barry Glen.

There was a good field of Ministox drivers at the track for a round for the Keir Millar Memorial trophy with Aaron Richards a welcome visitor. The field was split into a two thirds format.

The opening heat saw Richards just get the better of Jamie Dawson on the run up to the finish line to win by a whisker with Mitch Gold in third place. Heat two ended with Taylor Borthwick going through for a comfortable win over Michael Gordon and Richards. The third heat was won by Mika Millar despite a late charge from T. Borthwick with Gordon in third spot.

The Final turned out to be quite a race with Armit being sent bouncing off the turnstile bend wall and then spinning, On the restart Ethan Doull led the field away only for another stoppage. The cars bunched on the restart and it was Gordon who went into the lead from Millar with Rian Mitchell in third but with another four cars looking to take over third. Gold moved into third but was then edged wide as T. Borthwick moved ahead. The gap to Gordon disappeared as T. Borthwick took over the lead with Richards and Millar relegating Gordon to fifth. T. Borthwick was by now clear and she went through to win from Richards and Scott Allardyce but he and Gordon tangled on the back straight resulting in Gordon being squeezed into the wall and Allardyce rolling.

The Prostock drivers were in good form with Michael Mitchell having his first Racewall outing. Paul Barron won the opening at from Ian Christie and John Mason. Heat two saw Mitchell go through to win and he was over half a lap clear of Barron and Mason at the finish.

The final proved to be hectic with Ryan Cameron being sent crashing into the wall and then Mitchell being pushed wide as Barron took over at the head of the field. However Mitchell clipped and sent him spinning on the turnstile bend wall and the race was suspended after Barron’s car didn’t restart. Mitchell was black flagged for an illegal move and on the restart Mason went on to win from Jack Cameron and Leslie Paterson.

The Micro F2 drivers were in good form with plenty of incidents in their races.

The opening heat saw Joelan Maynard go through to win from long time leader Robbie Conner and Kyle Rogerson. The start to heat two was explosive with Ben McLellan was caught up in the action and crashed heavily into the wall. On the restart Maynard went through to up his second win of the night when he led home Oliver Herron and Conner. In heat three Conner made an early break from the field to win from Maynard and Herron.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 674 7 621 480 236 280 850 17 217 626
Heat 2 7 674 621 629 3 850 236 217 0 0
Final 674 7 629 3 236 621 280 850 217 626
GN 3 629 621 674 236 850 0 0 0 0

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 684 507 600 38 670 9 229 96 400 241
Heat 2 507 600 684 670 38 5 96 400 241 42
Final 684 670 38 229 600 96 73 95 241 42


Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 210 165 199 601 128 172 688 188 612 675
Heat 2 629 42 210 50 607 684 645 648 188 21
Heat 3 621 629 42 178 172 128 165 199 50 688
Final 629 210 178 42 621 172 165 199 50 648


Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 1 170 760 22 330 518 23 0 0 0
Heat 2 172 1 760 22 170 518 0 0 0 0
Final 760 22 518 0 0 0 0 0 0 0