Saturday 2019

It was a glorious evening at the Cowdenbeath Racewall on Saturday and on a dry and fast track the stock car drivers served up some exciting racing. Kyle Hegg brought out his new 1300 Saloon whilst Craig Jones made his debut. Gregor Whyte clipped a wall during practice and was then collected by Gordon Myers and missed a couple of races before he had his car repaired.

In the Formula IIs Emma Mellis won her first race at the Racewall, Raffaele Donofrio made his debut whilst Nigel Davies was back after a few seasons absence.

The Ministox drivers served up four races full of close and exciting racing whilst in the Micro F2s Zara Hutchinson won her first race.

Taylor Borthwick won three out of four Ministox races including the Easter Challenge final whilst there were double successes for Steven Burgoyne, Charlie Folan and David Philp Jnr.

With there being quite a few Formula II meetings south of the Border there were only 14 drivers at the track with Dave Waterhouse back up from Rochdale.

It only took a few laps before Emma Mellis was through into the lead during heat one and she went through to win from Liam Rennie and Euan Millar. In heat two Mellis was again the early leader but this time she was caught by Steven Burgoyne who picked up his first win of the night. Mellis held onto second with Rennie in third.

When the final started Waterhouse was the initial leader but Blair Anderson was spun on the top bend and restarted well down the order. Craig Reid was ahead on the second lap but Mellis was closing quickly, going into the lead on lap four. S. Burgoyne was making light work of the cars ahead of him and just before the half distance took the lead. Euan Millar moved into second a couple of laps later whilst Chris Burgoyne slowed to retire. Up front S. Burgoyne was running clear of the field and he went through to win from Millar and Daniel Scrimgeour.

Scrimgeour then went on to win the Grand National from Millar and Rennie but S. Burgoyne had to retire.

The 1300 Saloon drivers were in good form and there were quite a few dices going on at the lower end of the field that had the attention of the crowd as drivers moved others over to claim a place.

The Young Guns race saw Charlie Folan go through to win from Gary Paterson and Paul Moffat.

The first heat saw George Hendry lead the cars away but Moffat was leading after the end of the lap. Folan caught Moffat to take the lead but the latter’s engine blew a few laps later and as a result a few of the drivers were sliding on the oil for a couple of laps. Folan was to be caught by Hegg on the penultimate lap and was then spun as Hegg took his new car to victory from Scott Lindsell and Fraser Clark. Folan made no mistake in heat two going through to win from Lindsell and Hendry.

Hendry was the early leader when the final started but Myers was sent crashing into the turnstile bend and out of the race. However the race was suspended after Aaron Hastie’s car stopped entering the pit bend.

On the restart Hendry lost the lead to Hegg who then got pushed wide as Clark dived through into the lead but there was another race suspension when Lindsell crashed out.

Clark made a good restart but had Hegg in close order with the latter never giving the leader a minutes peace as he tried to get ahead. In the end Clark held on to win from Hegg with Folan in third spot.

The Ministox drivers were racing for their Easter Challenge and the field was split into a two thirds format. Ryan Borthwick, Rian Mitchell and Michael Gordon were having their first outings at the Racewall whilst Mika Millar had just finished his car early afternoon and found one or two teething problems with his car. Brandon Morton had a disastrous meeting running into troubles with his car and only managed a few laps though out the meeting.

In the opening heat Taylor Borthwick went on to win from Logan Bruce and Mitch Gold. In heat two she again made light of working her way through the field this time winning from Ross Lawrence and Millar. Heat three was led from start to finish by Robbie Armit and he was ahead of Ciaran Adams and Lawrence.

When the final started Armit led Koddi Wright away but the race was suspended after Gordon was teeboned on the pit bend and then spun out. On the restart Armit led and then began to ease away from the field with T. Borthwick forcing her way through a busy field and into second spot. The gap to Armit began to diminish lap after lap until T. Borthwick caught and passed him. Further back there were four cars fighting it out for fourth which became second when Armit clipped the wall and had to retire. T. Borthwick was well clear and she went through to win the Easter Challenge from Bruce and Lawrence.

There was another good turnout of Micro F2 drivers.

Finlay Gemmell went through to win the opening heat from Chris Davidson Jnr and Aiden Davidson. David Philp Jnr then won the first of his races when he led home Bobby Brandon and Ethan Jack Gemmell.

Philp Jnr then won the third heat when he led home Isla Chisholm and Davidson Jnr. Zara Hutchison the led the last of their heats from start to finish to pick up her first win as she led home Philp Jnr and Chisholm.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 621 3 629 850 647 674 236 217 17 237
Heat 2 674 621 3 629 236 217 850 237 751 280
Final 674 629 236 647 3 621 850 217 280 237


Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 629 601 199 42 128 684 604 675 0 0
Heat 2 629 50 621 178 42 604 645 165 111 688
Heat 3 684 128 50 601 199 178 645 612 627 688
Final 629 601 50 607 199 128 165 604 612 645

1300 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
YG 546 622 760 833 246 410 642 0 0 0
Heat 1 715 833 668 631 298 659 246 66 236 537
Heat 2 546 833 298 668 73 631 66 659 236 642
Final 668 715 546 537 298 642 6 236 246 0