Saturday 2019

The stock car meeting at the Cowdenbeath Racewall started and finished in a drizzle but there was quite a spell where it was dry however the track was wet and greasy for most of the meeting with the drivers trying various lines to obtain the best grip. Practice was to claim Stock Rod driver Leon Stewart and Prostock Basic driver John Galloway with engine problems.

The non contact ORCi Stock Rod drivers were in good form despite the conditions with a field of twenty-one cars starting the meeting and there was some close and fast racing throughout. For action the 1300 Saloon drivers came to the fore as the drivers contested another round in their Gold Roof Series. Mind you part way through their final the drizzle restarted causing the drivers a lot of problems.

There were new faces in the Stock Rods coming in the form of Jamie Bell, Simon Smail and Jonathon Howe who had headed up from County Durham. There were a few changes in the drivers starting positions due to the new grading coming into play.

Scott Galbraith was the first to show when the opening heat started but Smail tucked in behind although the latter was soon to be caught by James Halkett. David Kempton drifted wide in the company of other cars, clipped the wall and retired from the race. There was to be no stopping Galbraith who went through to win from Stuart Wedderburn and Liam McGill. Heat two was stopped after Halkett and Euan Robertson tangled on the main straight and the a few laps later after Cameron Doak was spun and clipped by a passing car. By the time the race restarted Galbraith was the leader but he had David Dignan in close order. Michael Bethune was making up ground rapidly and in one swift manouvre went from third to first. Once there he eased away from the field to win from World Champion Lee McGill and Scottish Champion James Gray.

The final was led off by Smail and whilst Halkett moved into second his bonnet began to flap but then Doak and Bell tangled on the main straight and the race was suspended. Smail was removed from the grid with a receiver failure and Halkett with a bonnet likely to depart his car at any time. This left Wedderburn as the leader and when the race did restart he pulled away from David Dignan but Bethune quickly closed on both and drove around then to move into the lead. Dean McGill and Stuart McKinnon were dicing for second after relegating Wedderburn down the order. Behind then Lee McGill and Gray were running in close order and they began to close in on Dignan. D. McGill slowed whilst Lee McGill, Gray and Doak were now squabbling over third spot. At the front of the pack Bethune went on for a comfortable win over McKinnon with Dignan bringing his car home in third spot after Lee McGill and Gray were penalised a couple of places. At the trophy presentation Bethune was presented with a tyre by Alex Hunter Race Car Prep.

Amongst those racing in the 1300 Saloon Gold Roof series was the defending champion Peter Low and the Scottish Champion Fraser Clark but missing from the ranks was Jeff Cosans who had broken ribs in the heavy shunt the previous week.

After Callum Sturrock had crashed into the turnstile bend wall on the opening lap the race was suspended and on the restart Gregor Whyte led the field away from Gordon Myers with Craig Jones slotting into third. Lisa Freebairn retired but both Kyle Hegg and Low were closing in on the leader quickly. Before half distance Hegg was ahead and despite Low’s challenge held on to win with Gary Paterson third. Myers led the field away at the start to heat two but lost out after a few laps to Aaron Hastie. Hastie led until the closing stages when he was pushed wide and that allowed Charlie Folan into the lead although Clark was on his bumper. Folan held on to win from Clark with Hegg third.

Whyte led the pack away when the final started but lost out a couple of laps later to Hastie although the latter had Paterson in close order. The rain started to fall and the cars began to lose grip and started to slide wide on the bends. Paterson slid into the wall suspending the race. Hastie now had Hegg on his tail and a few later he was sent wide, clipped the wall and retired as did Hegg. That allowed Clark through to win from Low and Folan. The meeting was sponsored by Hegg Race Developments and MCRH Allsorts Printing & Embroidery.

The Prostock Basic drivers turned up in their numbers and were in good form.

Dean Whiteley went through to win the opening heat from Jake Mason and David Sher. Whiteley then made it two wins out of two when he won heat two this time from D. Sher and Declan Lindsell.

David van Dieken led when the final started but after a couple of laps lost out to Mason but there was a stoppage after John Rankin was spun. Mason led the restart and went through to win from Callum Rennie and Lindsell.

The Prostock drivers were in good form with three different winners to their races.

Ian Christie then went on to win heat one from Paul Barron and John Mason. Heat two then saw Mason make light of the conditions to win from Barron and Craig Murray.

The final saw Leslie Paterson and Christie tangle on the opening lap and there was another stoppage a couple of laps later. Murray made a good restart and drove away from the field to record an easy win over Mason and Robert Hamilton.

There weren’t too many bangers around with Callum Campbell winning heat one from Brian Youngson and Lee Kopacz. Youngson then got the better of Campbell during the latter stages of the race to win with Kopacz third.

Youngson then won the final from Campbell and Kopacz whilst Jon Taylor won the Destruction Derby.

National Bangers

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 159 226 133 180 274 209 0 0 0 0
Heat 2 226 159 133 180 274 209 0 0 0 0
Final 226 159 133 180 274 0 0 0 0 0
DD 274 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0


Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 170 1 760 122 0 0 0 0 0 0
Heat 2 760 1 605 170 79 133 0 0 0 0
Final 605 760 39 1 0 0 0 0 0 0

Stock Rods

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 691 351 62 83 263 216 363 41 338 644
Heat 2 83 363 197 41 240 854 644 447 63 127
Final 83 41 240 216 363 197 263 644 854 447

1300 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 715 631 622 668 546 246 73 760 66 298
Heat 2 546 668 715 73 622 631 659 298 236 153
Final 668 631 546 833 659 642 298 246 0 0

Prostock Basics

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 320 761 251 834 55 717 700 638 325 764
Heat 2 320 251 834 764 761 420 240 165 638 717
Final 761 764 834 700 717 240 246 55 0 0