Saturday 2019


It was a bit on the wet side on Saturday night at the Cowdenbeath Racewall but despite the conditions the drivers were in good form with the 2 Litre Saloon and Ministox drivers especially getting to grips with the racing line. Mind you they clattered their cars off the bend wall to assist then round the corners.

The ones that suffered the most were the Classic Hot Rod drivers and the Micro F2 drivers although one or two of the Micro F2 drivers started to get their cars as close to the wall as they could.

Gary Nicholls appeared in the Kenny Purdie Classic Hot Rod and went on to dominate the final, winning the race by a comfortable margin.

In the Formula IIs Antony McAuliffe made his debut whilst the Ben Fund winner, Gordon Moodie was on the grid.

The opening heat saw Liam Rennie fend off Moodie to win the first heat with Euan Millar in third place. Garry Sime then went on to win heat two from Moodie and Rennie.

When the final started Emma Mellis beat Craig Reid away from the line to lead whilst at the rear of the field Moodie made up a couple of places quickly. The British Champion Chris Burgoyne was running ahead of his brother Steven but Moodie was soon closing them down. As Moodie made his bid to gain a place he touched wheels with S. Burgoyne and spun, restarting well down the order. C. Burgoyne then moved through into the lead and then went on to win from S. Burgoyne and Sime.

Burgoyne then won the Grand National from Robbie Dawson and Sime.
There was a good turnout of 2 Litre Saloon drivers with Raymond Dick making his first appearance of the season whilst Kevin Letford was using his own car. Missing were Graeme Shevill and Ian McLaughlin – the latter having damaged his ribs down at Taunton.

The first heat saw Ross Forrest go through to win the opening heat where he led home Andrew Mathieson and Ross Watters. It looked as if Forrest was on his way to a second win during heat two but after a late race stoppage Tam Rutherford Jnr sent him wide before leading the pack home only to be penalised for too good a restart thus handing the win to K. Letford who led home Barry Russell with the penalised Rutherford Jnr dropped to third.

Jordan Cassie went straight into the lead when the final started and was still clear when the chequer flag dropped. Brian Hogg Jnr initially slotted into second whilst K. Letford was spun. In quick succession Barry Russell, Barry Glen and Andrew & Euan Mathieson retired with Forrest moving into second place. James Letford was spun but quickly restarted only losing a couple of places. Watters got through into third place as Forrest retired. Cassie went on to win from Rutherford Jnr and Watters.

The Classic Hot Rods saw Graeme Callender bring his Anglia to the track whilst Gary Nicholls was having a run in the Purdie car whilst the latter recovers from a back injury. The conditions were certainly not conducive to non contact racing but the drivers somehow managed to find grip without using the wall.

The opening heat saw Callender go through to win from Matt MacPherson and Nicholls. Callender went on to repeat the result when he romped away to win heat two from Trevor Harris and MacPherson.

John Watkins led the field away when the final started but within a couple of laps Harris was through into the lead. MacPherson caught Watkins to claim second but whilst Callender was going well he had Nicholls for close company. MacPherson was to drop to fourth and then a couple of laps later Nicholls forced his way through into second. The gap between Harris and Nicholls quickly disappeared and when the latter took the lead he was able to pull away before going through to win from Callender and MacPherson.

Despite a few of the regular drivers racing in the ORCi Championship at Northampton there was still a good field of Ministox drivers and they certainly entertained the fans.

The opening heat saw Ryan Borthwick make light of the conditions and a few brushes with the wall to win from Kyle Roberts and Mika Millar. Heat two ended with Jay Paterson picking up his maiden Racewall win and he was ahead of Logan Bruce and Borthwick at the close.

When the final started Jake Wilson led from Koddi Wright and Ethan Doull but Paterson had quickly moved through the yellow graders and began to close on the leaders only to get caught up as he tried to overtake and crashed out. Borthwick then caught the leaders and within a couple of laps was through into the lead. Borthwick began to pull away but Wilson and Doull began to fight it out for second place for the remainder of the race. With a couple of laps remaining Doull finally managed to get the inside of Wilson to move into second place. Borthwick went on to win his second race of the night with Doull managing to keep ahead of Wilson in what had been an exciting dice. Wright received the driver of the night trophy.

There were 32 Micro F2 drivers at the track and in wet and greasy conditions the youngsters put on a good display although most struggled to find a racing line without hitting the wall. The first heat ended with Alfie Smith going through to win from Charlie Burgoyne and Freya Lovett. Heat two had an exciting last bend which saw David Philp Jnr drive around the outside of Joelan Maynard to win with Kyle Rogerson in third spot.

Maynard then picked up his first win of the night when he led home Philp Jnr and Ben McLellan. Their last heat of the night ended with Philp Jnr picking up his second win the night when he led Maynard and Rogerson home.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 3 7 629 854 480 236 647 217 621 93
Heat 2 480 7 3 647 629 674 854 16 217 621
Final 647 674 480 629 854 7 236 16 621 217
GN 674 854 480 629 236 16 621 93 19 0

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 400 124 670 697 600 38 301 5 507 229
Heat 2 640 600 5 38 73 507 229 670 697 92
Final 697 5 670 73 301 124 229 92 640 507


Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 604 645 621 612 50 21 174 111 199 601
Heat 2 612 601 604 50 199 21 111 688 603 0
Final 604 21 142 601 199 645 111 188 603 684

Classic Hot Rods

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 871 523 176 12 162 756 63 247 84 0
Heat 2 871 12 523 176 756 162 247 84 0 0
Final 176 871 523 12 756 162 63 247 84 0