Saturday 2019


It turned out to be yet another dry meeting at the Cowdenbeath Racewall and whilst the numbers were low in some of the formula the others certainly were good value.

In the Prostock Basics there had been a good dice between Dougie Anderson and Martin Loggie with some side by side racing. However the cars touched on the last lap, Anderson crashed heavily and was promptly collected by Loggie on the back straight. This allowed Jack Robertson to somehow thread his way through the carnage to pick up his fourth win of the night.

At the start to the meeting Andrew Wightman was shunted into the wall and somehow his car landed on the bonnet of the Gordon Myers car suspending the race. Graham Osborne and Callum Sturrock ended their races with ominous clouds of smoke emitting from under the engine bay, George Hendry dumped a lot of fluid onto the track which caused chaos resulting a quite a few cars spin out.

It was one of these nights for the Formula II drivers where there was the lowest turnout of cars – 6 in total with drivers calling off for various reasons whilst the English driver who had booked in didn’t appear.

The first heat saw Chris Burgoyne go through to win from Liam Rennie and Steven Burgoyne whilst in heat two he won from S. Burgoyne and Paul Reid.

Reid led the final until around the half distance before losing out to Rennie. Once Rennie took the lead he went through to win from S then C. Burgoyne.
Burgoyne then won the Grand National from Daniel Scrimgeour and Rennie.
The 1300 Saloon drivers were contesting another round of their Gold Roof series with Fraser Clark leading from Charlie Folan and Scott Lindsell. Andy Graham was having an outing in one of Jeff Cosans car after being away from racing for some 19 years. There was a disaster for Gary Paterson who suffered a mechanical problem in the pits and never made the track.

Gregor Whyte led the field away at the start to heat one but the race was then suspended after Wightman was sent crashing into the wall and ended up on the bonnet of Myers’ car. On the restart Whyte again led the field away but whilst Osborne and Cameron Milne both led for a lap or two they lost out as Fraser Clark moved into the lead. Milne held on to second spot whilst towards the end of the race George Hendry retired and dropped fluid onto the track. The cars behind slid and spun on the oil as Clark went through to win from Lindsell and Milne. Whyte was again the early leader when heat two started but again it was Clark who was soon ahead although he was to have Charlie Folan closing the gap, Folan forged ahead but couldn’t shake off Clark and when Callum Sturrock dumped oil onto the track there was more trouble as the drivers searched for grip. Clark sent Folan spinning out of the race as he went through to pick up his second win of the night leading home Lindsell and David Bowman.

Callum McIvor bounced off the wall at the start of the final with Whyte leading the race from Milne although the latter soon forced his way through into the lead. Folan was running just ahead of Clark and they moved ahead of Stu McCaig.

Milne was soon well clear of the field with Folan beginning to pull away from Clark. As the laps dwindled Clark’s car slowed and he dropped down the order. Milne went on to win from Folan with McCaig ending up in third spot. The winner and the first white top home Whyte each received a tyre from the sponsor GRP.

Milne then won the Allcomers race from Lindsell and McCaig.

The Prostock Basic drivers had their second outing in as many weeks and despite this there was a good turnout of drivers.

The first heat saw Jack Robertson go straight into the lead from James Slater whilst Nicole Russell was an early spinner. Robertson and Slater ran in close order for most of the race before Robertson went through to win from Slater and Loggie. When heat two started it was Slater who led the field away from Dougie Anderson whilst Robertson moved into third. The cars bunched going into the turnstile bend and it was Robertson who came out ahead from Loggie and John Rankin. As the laps dwindled Rankin moved into second spot and began to close in on Robertson. Loggie dived inside of Rankin but they couldn’t catch Robertson who picked up his second win with David Sher grabbing third with a couple of laps to run.

The final was suspended early on after John Galloway’s car came to a stop on the back straight. Alan Burden then led the field away with Robertson soon moving through into second place but when Burden clipped the wall the race was again suspended. Robertson then led the field away but he had J. Rankin and then D. Sher following his every move. Rankin and Sher swapped places a couple of times but neither could find the line to get ahead of Robertson who went through to pick up a hat trick of wins with D. Sher finishing in second with Graeme Dignan in third.

The Allcomers race was led by Anderson for most of the time but towards the end of the race he had been closed down by Loggie. They diced over the remainder of the race, running side by side for a few laps but on the last lap they bounced off each other on the main straight but as Anderson went round the turnstile bend he suffered a puncture and crashed heavily into the wall. As he bounced off the wall he was collected by Loggie and this allowed Robertson to dive through to win from J. Rankin and D. Sher.

There were only a handful of bangers at the track with Callum Campbell winning heat one from Jon Taylor whilst Neil Naismith won heat two from Taylor and Campbell.

Gavin Fletcher brought his battered car back onto the track but during the race he was sent spinning on more than one occasion and his car was crabbing down the straights. Campbell went on to pick up his second win of the night from Taylor with Fletcher somehow managing to finish in third.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 647 3 674 236 17 217 0 0 0 0
Heat 2 647 674 17 3 236 217 0 0 0 0
Final 3 674 647 236 17 217 0 0 0 0
GN 674 236 3 217 0 0 0 0 0 0

National Bangers

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 159 274 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Heat 2 880 274 159 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Final 159 274 11 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

1300 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 668 833 60 37 880 36 6 410 642 361
Heat 2 668 833 880 60 642 6 361 0 0 0
Final 60 546 66 833 880 36 6 668 642 298
AC 60 833 66 36 880 546 6 298 361 0

Prostock Basics

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 23 5 227 325 834 165 251 764 638 240
Heat 2 23 227 251 165 5 638 717 410 240 764
Final 23 251 240 227 165 663 764 717 761 834
AC 23 165 251 240 717 56 999 834 164 761