Saturday 2019

The 2 Litre Saloon World Final was the feature race at The Racewall on Saturday night and whilst Diggy Smith led the race from start to finish it was not a runaway win. Not only did he have to fend off a few challenges but he had to combat changing weather as well.

There were some multi-car shunts in all their races whilst Paul Honeyman and Ryan Wadling had to be assisted out of their cars after taking heavy knocks.

On Sunday Smith appeared with the gold roof but it was to be Marc Honeyman’s day as he went on to win the Raymond Gunn Memorial trophy. The saloon drivers were in great form over the weekend with plenty of exciting racing.

All told on Saturday there were 60 Saloon Stock Cars at the track with Graeme Shevill and Adam O’Dell posting the quickest times in practice. However the practice was held in dry conditions but afterwards the drivers had to combat a wet and greasy track. The drivers took their cars onto the grid where the fans could meet the drivers and get autographs.

The first Saloon race of the night gridded 28 cars and as expected there was no shortage of action with a few drivers seeing their chances of World Final success disappear.

Paul Honeyman led the field away but within a lap the race was stopped after a shunt had left Robin Copland’s car stranded. P. Honeyman was again the first to show but was caught and overtaken by Ryan Santry. Stuart Shevill Jnr was quickly on the move and he was soon making up ground quickly going through to win from Santry, P. Honeyman, Graeme Anderson, Andrew Mathieson and Scott Greenslade who all took their places on the back of the World Final grid.

The cars then lined up on the grid for their Gilmore Engineering/Motorsport with Attitude World Championship Final. A typical Cowdenbeath roar greeted the sound of “Drivers start your engines” as the cars set off on their parade lap. Smith made the better of the starts with Barry Russell slotting in behind and his early bid for the lead saw the Smith car bounce off the wall, Kyle Irvine was caught up in a spin and retired with the defending World Champion Max Stott another early casualty.. Ross Watters was making up ground but so too was Shevill Jnr who quickly got into the top ten. Cars were dropping out but Smith was clear of Russell and starting to lap back markers. Then on lap 12 the race complex changed after P. Honeyman crashed heavily into the wall and was then picked up by the pack and needed assistance out of his car. Not only did Smith have the field line up behind him but it started to rain- heavily! The restart didn’t last long and when Brad Compton-Sage’s car shed a wheel the race was again suspended. The field again lined up behind Smith and this time Russell made another heavy challenge which Smith managed to survive. Graeme Shevill moved into third with Ian McLaughlin coming through into fourth. Smith then held on to go through to win the World Championship receiving a Cowdenbeath roar as he crossed the line to win a title he last held in 2000, Russell was a close second with Watters in third spot.

Marc Honeyman won the consolation race from Billy Smith and Robin Copland whilst Russell got ahead of Santry on the last lap to win the Inter-nations Cup Final from Santry and Deane Mayes.

There was a healthy turn out of Formula II drivers with Stevie Forster and Alex Gault both returning whilst there were visitors from England and Northern Ireland.

Liam Rennie won the opening heat from Henry King and Garry Sime. It was a wet heat two with Rennie again winning from Robbie Dawson and Aaron Vaight. Steven Burgoyne then won heat three from Craig Wallace and Vaight.

Gault led the cars away for the Geo Mac 100 Memorial Trophy Final but Rennie was making short work of working his way through the field and he went on to win from Euan Millar and Sime.

The MASCAR heats were won by Mark Carnwell but the final went to Nick Spicer who led home Carnwell and Chris Watkiss

The JASCAR heats were won by Alfie Gendell and Joe Wood with Gendell winning the final from Aloucious Millard and Lara Spicer.

On Sunday a few of the Saloon drivers were posted missing but still the action flowed right from the start. Chris Burgoyne was racing Graeme Shevill’s Saloon as well as his Formula II.

Ross Watters won the opening heat from Billy Smith and Ian McLaughlin whilst heat two went to Marc Honeyman who was ahead of Eck Cunningham and Barry Russell. Heat three ended with a win for Willie Mitchell who led home Graeme Anderson and Ryan Santry.

The Raymond Gunn memorial race turned out to be a cracker with an early stoppage after

quite a few cars had spun. However it was M. Honeyman who dominated proceedings leading for nearly all of the race and in the end he was clear of Watters and Deane Mayes at the close.

In the Formula IIs the cars raced in an all in format with Liam Rennie winning heat one from Steven Burgoyne and Euan Millar. Heat two saw Robbie Dawson win from Millar and Aaron Vaight.

Kieran Howie led the Chapman Trophy Final but spun handing the lead to Vaight. However towards the end S. Burgoyne moved through into the lead going through to win Vaight and Adam Blacklock. Millar went on to win the Grand National from Vaight and Blacklock.

There was a good turnout of 1300 Saloons with heat one won by Dale Robertson from Declan Lindsell and James Ellis. Heat two saw Aaron Hastie go through for an easy win from Fraser Clark and Kyle Hegg,

Clark went on to win the Turner trophy final from Hegg and Lindsell.

Dean McGill was having a run in a MASCAR with heat wins going to Mark Carnwell and Chris Watkiss but in an exciting Scottish Championship Nick Spicer got ahead of Steve Stanford to win.

Connor Forster and Lara Spicer won the JASCAR heats with Joe Wood winning the Scottish Championship from Wood and Spicer.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 3 78 480 854 629 876 41 564 647 980
Heat 2 3 854 184 17 647 674 679 419 564 78
Heat 3 674 16 184 17 980 925 917 250 467 19
Final 3 629 480 854 184 674 679 647 925 419

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
LCQ 618 389 507 229 124 800 28 8 14 607
WF 116 600 670 661 214 684 171 26 120 389
Cons 107 161 241 747 730 476 389 5 306 16
Final 600 389 730 161 131 306 107 399 14 607

American Cup Car Racing

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 65 22 1 11 77 4 56 17 33 44
Heat 2 65 1 22 11 56 77 25 89 4 7
Final 1 65 44 56 11 89 33 4 25 7

Junior American Cup Car Racing

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 31 71 21 98 62 0 0 0 0 0
Heat 2 7 98 71 21 62 0 0 0 0 0
Final 31 21 62 7 71 98 0 0 0 0