Saturday 2019

On a dry evening at the Cowdenbeath Racewall the ORCi Stock Rod drivers claimed the top billing as they raced for their Scottish Championship. There were 22 drivers at the track but Leon Stewart got caught out during the practice session and unfortunately couldn’t get the car repaired in time for the main race.

In the Formula IIs it turned out to be one of these nights for yellow grade driver Jason Blacklock who won the white/yellow series final, a heat and then the final.

Lauren Ford retired from the Ministox last week and moved straight into the Prostock Basics formula where she ended up dominating the proceedings winning a heat as well as the final.

The race for the 2 Litre Saloon track points took a twist when the leader Ian McLaughlin’s engine blew up big style just after the final started and he exited the race in a cloud of smoke.

The main race of the night was the Stock Rod Scottish Championship with the drivers drawing their grid positions as they started their parade lap. Scott Galbraith drew pole position with the European Champion Stuart McKinnon alongside whilst Lee McGill and Jonathan Howe were on row 2. Michael Bethune started from seven, the defending champion James Gray on row eight and John McAllister the ORCi Champion on row nine.

After the grid was formed the green flag dropped with Galbraith making a good start to the race and headed McKinnon into the turnstile bend but Lee McGill dived inside and on the back straight moved into second spot. Stuart Wedderburn slotted into third with McKinnon dropping to fourth. Galbraith held the lead until lap five when Lee McGill moved into the lead but further back Bethune moved into fourth but McKinnon now had Cameron Doak, Gray and McAllister in close order. McGill was having bother shaking off the attentions of Galbraith but further back McKinnon ended up spinning after he and Mark Blackie got caught up. The race was suspended and the field lined up behind Lee McGill although he had a back marker between him and Galbraith, Wedderburn, Bethune and Gray. When the race restarted McGill tried to make a break but Galbraith held on although next time around Bethune was through into second and then began to close in on Lee McGill. A couple of laps later the leading duo were nose to tail but when Bethune got alongside the McGill car slide wide, clipped the wall and slowed. Gray moved into second but had McAllister and Doak in close order. Bethune eased away to become the 2019 Scottish Champion from Gray and McAllister.

The first of the Allcomers races saw Gray go through to win from McAllister and Doak but all three were in close order as they crossed the finish line.

Allcomers heat two was for the Michael Hastie Memorial trophy and whilst Kris Simpson led for a good few laps in the end Gray went on to win his second race of the night but he again had Doak and McAllister in close order as they crossed the finish line.

Amongst the Formula II drivers in action were Josh Walton and Dave Waterhouse.

The first race of the night was the final of the white/yellow series but the wet area on the turnstile bend saw the defending champion Gregor Turner slide as he entered the bend and was then collected by Paul Reid although the latter was able to restart. A few laps later Emma Mellis, Alex Gault and Peter Watt all slide into the wall suspending the race.

Jason Blacklock led the decimated field away and he went through to win from Paul Reid and Kieran Howie.

Heat one saw J. Blacklock go through for an easy win over Steven Burgoyne and Garry Sime. Heat two should have been another win for J. Blacklock but towards the end of the race his car started to miss and this allowed Burgoyne through to win from J. Blacklock and Sime.

Although Howie was the first to show when the final started by the end of the lap J. Blacklock was through into the lead. Sime appeared in third just ahead of P. Reid and Turner but Burgoyne was off his mark quickly and started to close in those ahead. Sime moved into second but had Burgoyne in close order and with the laps dwindling Burgoyne moved into second place. J. Blacklock was well clear and he went on to win where he led home Burgoyne and Sime.

Sime went on to win the Grand National from Howie and Daniel Scrimgeour.

The 2 Litre saloons were on good form with Robbie Lee a welcome visitor from south of the border whilst Alan Ainslie was having a rare outing.

Heat one saw Graeme Anderson snatch the win, taking the lead during the closing stages of the race and crossed the line just clear of Colin Savage and Eck Cunningham. Heat two ended with Ian McLaughlin going through the field to win from Ross Watters and Cunningham.

The start to the final was spectacular with McLaughlin’s engine blowing and he retired from the race in a cloud of smoke. On the restart Savage led from Cunningham but Willie Mitchell’s car began to sound flat and he dropped away. Savage was sent spinning on the back straight although he quickly restarted as Cunningham took over at the front of the field although Watters was on a charge and began to eat into his lead. Not long after Watters caught Cunningham he sent the leader wide before going on to win from Cunningham and Ainslie.

There was a good turn out of Prostock Basic drivers with Alistair Strachan back in action whilst Lauren Ford was making her debut.

Ford ran away with the opening heat to win from Martin Loggie and Jake Mason. In heat two Loggie then went on to win from Ford and Joanne Hilditch.

Ford was through into the lead by lap one when the final started before going on to win her second race of the night leading home Loggie and Mason to the line.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
W&Y 512 17 679 217 555 19 0 0 0 0
Heat 1 512 674 480 852 17 236 679 391 280 217
Heat 2 674 512 480 852 17 391 236 679 280 217
Final 512 674 480 679 17 236 391 621 280 217
GN 480 679 236 391 852 512 621 555 280 0

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 229 14 45 670 684 73 96 777 124 8
Heat 2 684 670 45 229 38 96 777 124 454 86
Final 670 45 777 14 8 96 454 38 0 0

Stock Rods

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
SC 83 197 272 216 62 263 644 447 351 476
Heat 1 197 272 216 351 691 644 444 40 854 71
Heat 2 197 216 272 40 41 644 263 240 854 71

Prostock Basics

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 688 227 761 420 501 764 23 21 246 240
Heat 2 227 688 700 420 764 23 240 761 246 999
Final 688 227 761 420 246 700 764 240 999 55