Saturday 2019

The Superbowl for the 2 Litre Saloons at the Cowdenbeath Racewall on Saturday night was first class with the action coming near enough as soon as the racing started on Saturday night. Ben Murray rolled his car in a crowd of cars on the main straight, Stevie Honeyman on the pit bend and then Holly Glen after she was collected, again on the pit bend and rolled. Andrew Mathieson was sent crashing up the wall but somehow survived whilst Honeyman was sent crashing into the wall in his other heat and was left with his car in a sorry state. Aaron Hastie ended up rolling his 1300 saloon after being squeezed into the wall. There was a close finish in the Classic Hot Rod final when Craig Boyd pipped Kenny Purdie on the run up to the flag.

The main race of the night on Saturday night was the 2 Litre Saloon Superbowl and attracted a healthy field of 41 cars.

The field was split into a two thirds format with the points scored determining where the drivers would start in the final. Murray was an early casualty in heat one and whilst Colin Savage led for a while it was Ross Watters who went through to win from Diggy Smith and Jacob Roff. Heat two was suspended three times, one when Honeyman was sent crashing up the wall with his car losing a wheel in the process. Ryan Santry went through to win from Graeme Shevill and Adam O’Dell. Honeyman had a big rollover in the third heat where World Champion Diggy Smith went on to win from Kyle Irvine and Holly Glen.

Smith was on pole position with Santry alongside whilst the first Scottish driver was Ian McLaughlin starting from row 3. When the race started Smith went straight into the lead and with his chasers getting tangled up emerged with a big lead. However H. Glen was edged wide and before she could move was collected by the pack and rolled. On the restart D. Smith had Watters on his tail but he was sent wide and into the wall and out of the race. Stuart Shevill Jnr appeared in second whilst McLaughlin had Chris Burgoyne trying to get ahead. Smith began to ease away before going through to win from Shevill Jnr and Deane Mayes.

The first of the Formula II races was the Final of the Pre 67 Grand National final with Steven Burgoyne winning from Gordon Moodie and Chris Burgoyne. The heats were won by Moodie the first from Garry Sime and Liam Rennie whilst the second from C. Burgoyne and Sime. Moodie and C. Burgoyne tangled at the start to the final and retired with Rennie going through to win the James Clarke Cochrane memorial trophy from Sime and Adam Blacklock.

Moodie then won the Grand National from Sime and Dennis Middler.

There were 26 1300 Saloon drivers in action and they too were not shy at making contact. Dougie Ford won the opening heat from Fraser Clark and Callum Sturrock whilst Kyle Hegg came out on top in heat two where he led home Clark and Charlie Folan. Clark looked to be on his way to win their Superbowl but lost out to James Ellis and Ford on the last lap.

There were some close and fast racing in the Classic Hot Rods where Kenny Purdie won the Doug Farrer Trophy from Gavin Taber and Graham Boyd. Craig Boyd won heat two from Alex Wilson and Charlie Schembri. In a close run final where Purdie led for most of the race from Boyd only to be delayed by a back marker on the run up to the line which allowed Boyd through to win the Cock of the North trophy from Purdie and G. Taber.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Pre67 674 7 647 236 854 852 41 652 419 17
Heat 1 7 480 3 674 852 652 679 854 41 647
Heat 2 7 647 480 3 854 41 236 852 652 982
Final 3 480 852 41 419 854 236 391 982 467
GN 7 480 41 854 236 391 419 3 982 0

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 670 116 99 47 747 730 399 5 618 171
Heat 2 389 661 171 747 618 684 399 107 14 45
Heat 3 116 85 8 711 730 428 684 389 5 600
UKSB 116 618 684 600 122 171 47 730 661 902

Classic Hot Rods

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
DFT 17 555 445 121 58 45 523 756 2 116
Heat 2 45 58 121 756 17 555 523 162 2 445
COTN 45 17 555 58 756 121 2 445 0 0