Saturday 2023

It was another chilly evening at the Cowdenbeath Racewall on Saturday but whilst dull it stayed fair. The track was basically dry and as a result there was plenty of fast racing with the Saloon final definitely the highlight of the evening when Barry Glen and Tam Rutherford Jnr clashed on the pit bend in spectacular fashion.
Amongst the visitors were Formula II drivers Tom Bennett, Stephen Smith and Josh Weare whilst Joey Reynolds and Matty Stirling were racing their Saloons. In the Micros F2 Elliott Royal, and Sam Forster were the visitors from England. 
Amongst the drivers at the track in the Formula IIs were Gregor Turner, who as having his first outing of the year. 
The opening heat was stopped after Emma Mellis spun Brian Hogg Jnr and then led the field away on the restart but then we had a succession of spinners with Turner, Paul Reid and Ryan McGill doing so although only Turner restarted.  McGill lost the lead to Bennett who went on to win from Moodie and Smith. Hea two saw McGill winning and Bennett moving into third at the close.
The Formula II final turned out to be a disaster with Hogg Jnr and Mellis sidelined at the start. McGill led from Smith but Moodie was making progress. As he dived inside three blue graders they somehow tangled leaving Moodie against the tyres and Weare slowing to retire. McGill went through to win from Bennett with Hogg claiming third on the last lap.
Smith led the Grand National for some time but when Mellis clipped the wall and spun she had Moodie bounce off her car suspending the race. Smith led the field away but Moodie made short work of moving into the lead before going on to win from Bennett and Hogg.
There was another big field of Saloons and amongst those making their first appearance of the season were Derek Duff, Ian McLaughlin and Tam Rutherford Jnr. 
Kai Gilmour led the cars away when heat one started but failed to complete the lap with Harry Bruce taking over the lead. Dale Robertson was second running ahead of Reynolds but a few laps later Robertson was in the lead from Reynolds and Zak Gilmour. Z. Gilmour closed the gap and then took the lead during the closing stages. Reynolds was punted wide by Stirling as Watters forced his way into second. Z. Gilmour held on to win the opening heat from Robertson and Watters.
K. Gilmour pulled out at the start of heat two with the grid reforming. Andy Ainslie led the field away from Harry Bruce whilst Euan Mathieson was clipped into a spin and somehow missed by the pack. Holly Glen was spun on the main straight and whilst she restarted she soon retired her car. Robertson then picked off the two ahead as Jordan Cassie was sent spinning. Reynolds moved into second but had Z. Gilmour on his tail. All three were soon running in close order with Robertson leading them home.
With the Saloon final being a double pointer and was without doubt was the race of the night. There were 21 cars on the grid with K. Gilmour leading the field away but early on E. Mathieson was spun on the back straight. Then spectacularly Barry Glen and Tam Rutherford Jnr tangled with the Rutherford Jnr car going for a wild ride around the pit bend. Both carried on although Glen retired and his car was promptly clipped by Rutherford. The dice for the lead saw Stirling and Watters fight it out with Watters getting ahead on the run up to the flag. The action didn't finish there with Cassie being spun as McLaughlin made up ground to grab third spot
Another good turn out of ORCi Stock Rods and they treated the fans to some exciting dicing. 
James Halkett led the field away but Graham Osborne was an early retiree. Bailey McKinnon slowed as Dylan Smart closed right onto Halkett's back bumper and then through into the lead. Derek Conner, who had Michael Bethune glued to his back bumper closed up on the tail of the leader and with only a handful of laps remaining went ahead of Smart.  Conner then fended off Bethune with Smart third but only just as Stuart Wedderburn all but caught him at the finish line. Bethune failed to start heat two whilst Sean Naismith was out after the first lap. Chris Chance made an early break and quickly built up a big lead. Conner was running just ahead of James Gray as they carved their way through the pack. Although Chance was still ahead at the flag Conner, with Gray in tow had drastically reduced his lead. 
The start to the final was busy with Osborne slowing sending Wedderburn wide and delaying Chance. McKinnon got ahead of Halkett but after a few laps was closed down by the pack. McKinnon retired and as the pack jockeyed for position John McAllister spun on the main straight suspending the race. Gray led the field away but a couple of laps later the race was again suspended this time when Chance was squeezed wide and stopped against the wall. Gray again led the cars away from Conner and Bethune on the restart Gray made an early break but Naismith slowed and retired. The cars set a blistering pace as they raced to the line with Gray winning but second placed Conner was penalised elevating Bethune to second and Leon Stewart to third. Gray also received a tyre from sponsor Photoflash Travel.
The opening Micro F2 race was led off by Elliott Royal from Sam Foster but they touched handing Jayden Barrie the lead. Shelbie Paterson crashed out stopping the race for a second time. Barrie now had Oakley Grief and Cruz Strachan right behind on the restart but Barrie reeled of the remaining laps to win from Grief and Strachan. The second heat saw Barrie and Royal battle it out for the win from start to finish with Barrie claiming his second win of the night crossing the line ahead of Royal with Strachan third. Royal made light work of the final going straight into the lead and whilst Strachan did get close Royal held on to win with Grief in third and Forster being awarded the driver of the meeting.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 213 7 299 280 736 92 192 391 0 0
Heat 2 463 7 213 280 92 299 621 736 192 0
Final 463 213 92 299 280 0 0 0 0 0
GN 7 213 92 280 736 463 299 192 0 0

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 122 19 670 407 607 747 684 760 697 661
Heat 2 19 760 122 670 684 607 407 747 661 5
Final 670 747 607 407 684 626 697 122 86 760

Stock Rods

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 172 83 351 272 17 197 338 854 612 0
Heat 2 854 172 197 46 272 612 17 351 141 0
Final 197 83 612 172 46 17 338 255 0 0