Saturday 2016

The first of the stock car Championship weekends attracted a big turn out of cars for the occasion with a big turn out of drivers from all over the country and as a result the Cowdenbeath Racewall was buzzing.

One of the highlights on Saturday night was the inaugural running of the Keir Millar Memorial trophy with youngsters from all over Britain on the grid to pay their respects to a talented driver who sadly was taken from us just over a year ago. A lone piper led the ministox drivers around the track on their parade lap with Keir’s brother Euan at the front of the parade. Once the cars were in position there was a “meet the driver” session where the fans were able to come onto the track to meet up with the ministox drivers.

On Saturday night the formula II drivers had their Scottish Championship to contest whilst the 2 litre National saloons and ORCi stock rods had qualifying rounds for their British Championship.

  • On Saturday the opening race of the evening was the Keir Millar Memorial trophy with Ethan Pope on pole position and Steven Burgoyne alongside whilst behind them were Euan Millar and Dan Santry As the tension grew the drivers set off on their warm up lap with Pope going straight into the lead but when Robyn Bruce was sent wide on the pit bend she tangled with Luke Dorling and a few others, the Dorling car ending up on its side. When the race restarted Pope was under pressure from Santry, Burgoyne and E. Millar but next time around Santry was ahead of Burgoyne and Pope The leading group circulated in this order until lap ten when there was another stoppage after Megan Petherick was involved in a shunt with Kyle Roberts. Santry again led the cars away with Burgoyne harrying Santry although he in turn was under pressure from Pope. Over the closing laps Santry eased away slightly from Burgoyne to win with Pope in third.
  • In the heats which followed Santry won from Pope and Burgoyne with Paterson in ninth and Whyte tenth. In heat two Harrison Bryant won from Burgoyne and Dorling with Paterson sixth and Mitchell in tenth.
  • The Scottish formula II Championship brought a healthy field of cars to the track including the defending champion Chris Burgoyne and his main rival Gordon Moodie. However they were the only two drivers on the grid that had previously won the title! The grid was drawn and the cars lined up in their graded order with Pete Davidson the initial leader but whilst Jason Blacklock’s car stopped on the back straight eyes were focused on a shunt on the main straight which left Marc Fortune’s car perched on the wall and leaning on Robbie Dawson’s car. There were two further race suspensions necessitated after Ryan Wadling rolled and then when Kyle Taylor and Blair Anderson tangled on the back straight the cars locked up and they crashed into the wall. However Burgoyne was another who retired. Glen led the cars away initially but soon had to give best to Dennis Middler who once ahead began to pull away. Craig Wallace emerged in second and began to close whilst Stevie Forster was in third but was slowly being caught by Dawson. However there was to be no stopping Middler who reeled off the reminder of the laps to win from Wallace and Forster with Cranson in seventh and C. Reid in tenth.
  • Burgoyne won heat two from John Hogg, Middler and Moodie with P. Reid in tenth. J. Hogg won the final from Burgoyne and Middler with Cranson sixth and Moodie in eighth place. Burgoyne then won the Grand National from Middler and Wallace with P. Reid eighth and Howie in ninth place.
  • Amongst the saloon drivers in action were the World Champion Simon Welton, European Champion Eddie Darby, Irish Champion Anthony McIvor, Scottish Champion Luke Grief, English Champion Sid Madgwick and the defending British Champion Lee Sampson in a strong 40 car field. The field was split into five groups with each driver racing three times and the points scored determining their starting position for the championship on Sunday. Local interest centered around Kyle Irvine (Glenrothes), Ross Watters (Leven), Derek Duff (Cupar), James Strath (Cowdenbeath) and Dave Sturrock (Saline)
  • The heats were full of excitement and there was no shortage of contact resulting in cars being spun or bouncing off the wall – really good and fast saloon racing. Heat wins went to Darby, Graeme Shevill, Duff, Diggy Smith and Irvine with the latter’s points tally netting him pole position.
  • World Champion Michael Bethune was amongst those in action in the stock rods with six drivers over from Northern Ireland. Heat wins went to Stuart McKinnon, Jim Pitcaithly, Justin Washer, Jack Kennedy and Michael Bethune.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
SC 41 16 652 854 321 500 317 30 217 922
Heat 2 647 92 41 7 850 854 321 652 30 17
Final 92 647 41 236 854 317 652 7 17 321
GN 647 41 16 854 92 236 850 17 679 321

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 677 219 306 670 107 386 507 349 218 777
Heat 2 661 85 38 618 711 641 570 217 229 626
Heat 3 626 730 85 219 618 349 158 428 607 107
Heat 4 116 661 219 677 349 600 229 386 507 670
Heat 5 85 618 730 428 600 711 158 625 641 626


Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
KMM 268 674 987 629 33 667 623 911 592 122
Heat 1 268 987 674 592 33 911 100 951 122 126
Heat 2 911 674 220 629 33 122 628 623 902 172
Heat 3 987 592 629 951 220 100 623 126 667 642

Stock Rods

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 41 612 83 909 92 476 351 854 626 315
Heat 2 91 10 197 41 23 612 794 314 48 216
Heat 3 909 83 92 165 91 26 476 315 23 189
Heat 4 314 48 92 612 41 476 68 257 644 854
Heat 5 83 165 91 10 644 23 909 257 324 0