Saturday 2016

The first part of legends day 3 at the Cowdenbeath Racewall saw drivers from a past era take to the track in speedway style races and whilst it was supposed to be light hearted the drivers were certainly not willing to concede an inch. Terry Hall and Ian Roberston had their heritage saloons whilst the replica car of Gordon McDougall did quite a few laps along with the Howard Cole and Brian Gray replicas.

The highlight of the meeting was the Siamese banger Scottish Championship which had plenty of action with Scott Jamieson and Daniel Kennedy surviving a rollover before going through to win. However they were not the only ones to roll with the team of Willie Starwarski and Josh Heeps rolled as did Leslie Paterson and Shaun Kennedy and Cameron Milne and Colin Bruce much to the delight of the fans.

Ross Graham was the top saloon driver winning a couple of races whilst Euan Millar did the double in the minis. There was plenty of action in the 1300cc saloons where Allen “Captain Chaos” Bruce returned to the Racewall after being missing for a good few years.

On Sunday it was Legends day 3 where the drivers of the past had a chance to reminisce with the drivers they raced with years ago.

Gordon McDougall had an outing in the car he won the World Championship with some 40 years ago and had the trophy he won on hand to have his photograph taken.

There were 6 classic hot rods on hand and they showed just how nimble they were putting in some very fast demonstration laps

However the Saturday night racing proved to be fast with a big field of saloons which saw Barrie Letford making his national saloon debut whilst Michael Allard was racing the car that Glen Heeps had raced earlier in the year. Local drivers were Kyle Irvine (Glenrothes), Ross Watters (Leven), James Strath (Cowdenbeath). Derek Duff (Cupar), Davie Sturrock (Saline), Raymond Dick (Glenrothes) and Alex Cunningham (Leven).

The first heat saw Barry Glen carry on where he left off last week by romping through the field to win from Ross Graham, Cunningham and Irvine with Strath in sixth. However when it looked as if Glen was working his way through the pack he was sent wide and in the end Graham went charging through to win from Watters and Cunningham with Irvine in eighth.

When the final started Jamie Connacher went straight into the lead but he had Cunningham the first to challenge him but before could make the challenge he was sent wide as Graham moved through. Within a lap Graham was in the lead but then there was a stoppage after B, Letford crashed into the turnstile bend wall as Connacher and Marc Honeyman tangled. Within a lap of the start James Letford was spun by Raymond Dick and then later Cunningham was sent wide. In the end Graham went on to win from a closing Luke Grief and Irvine with Duff fifth and just ahead of Watters with Cunningham in tenth place.

There was another good turn out from the 1300cc saloons and as a result there was no shortage of contact and a few drivers sent spinning as a result. Local drivers included Lee Wilson (Comrie), Fraser Anderson (Cowdenbeath), Jeff Cosans (Dunfermline), Michael Byers (Methil) and Arron Hastie (Ceres)

The opening heat was won by Grant McGowan who fended off Anderson and Allen Bruce with Cosans eighth and just ahead of Byers. Heat two saw McGowan again get the better of Anderson to win with Brian Allan in third and Cosans fourth with Byers sixth

Bruce was soon ahead when the final started but as the race progressed he was caught by Wilson and Stu. McCaig. However Anderson was making ground but he had just taken the lead when Wilson’s car clipped the wall and stopped. The cars lined up behind Anderson who soon had McGowan on his tail just after the restart. This time Anderson held on taking his first win of the night from McGowan, Bruce and Myers with Cosans seventh and just clear of Hastie.

The ministox drivers were as usual in top form with Steven Burgoyne and Euan Millar again the dominant drivers. Local drivers included Gary Paterson (Leven) and Michael Mitchell (Lochgelly)

Heat one saw E, Millar go through to pick up his first win of the night when he led home Burgoyne Jack McCallum with Paterson eighth and Mitchell tenth. In heat two E. Millar again came out on top this time from Bryan Lindsay and McCallum with Burgoyne fourth after being shunted into the wall with Mitchell eighth and Paterson ninth.
The last race in the Disco Round was fast but there was an early stoppage after Ryan Borthwick and McCallum tangled on the back straight and crashed into the tyres. Burgoyne led the cars away on the restart but within a lap E. Millar had forced his way through into the lead. Burgoyne though held on and with the laps dwindling managed to dive through on the inside and back into the lead. Once there he eased away to win and led home E. Millar and Teri Linden with Mitchell fifth and Paterson seventh.

There weren’t too many Lightning Rods at the track with the Dearn family again dominating. Gordon Brown (Leven) was the local driver in action

Chrissy Dearn Jnr won the opening heat from Brown and Ormond Dearn. However in heat two it was O. Dearn who won from C. Dearn Jnr and Brown.

O. Dearn then won the final from Chris Dearn Snr and C. Dearn Jnr with Brown in fourth place.
The youngsters in the microf2s were in fine form with some fast and close racing. Local drivers were Rebecca Reid (Cowdenbeath) and Leon Muir (Thornton)

The opening heat saw Lewis Burgoyne go through for a narrow win over Jamie Dawson and Ross McLaughlin with Muir fifth. In heat two Dawson took the honours from Burgoyne with McLaughlin in third with Reid sixth.
The third heat saw McLaughlin go through into an early lead but as the race progressed he was caught by Burgoyne, Dawson and Reid. However the latter was spun as Dawson tried to make up a place and he was excluded with Burgoyne winning from McLaughlin, Callan Walker and Reid with Muir sixth.

The opening Siamese banger race was their Scottish Championship and within a couple of laps the Starwarski/Heeps (Fife) car was sent wide, clipped the wall and rolled. When the race restarted the Paterson/ S. Kennedy car was soon on its side and again stopped the race. However when the track was cleared the Jamieson/D. Kennedy car reeled off the laps to win.

In the first heat the Cameron Milne. Colin Bruce car rolled whilst the Starwarski/Heeps car had to take avoiding action and crashed out. Whilst the final was a tame affair with Jamieson/D. Kennedy making it a hat trick of wins.

On Sunday it was Legends day with the likes of Conrad Self, Bob Jones, Alan Gladden, Kenny Ireland, Gordon Brown, Bill Auld and lots more taking to the track to race.

Lightning Rods

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 878 832 877 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Heat 2 877 878 832 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Final 877 862 878 832 0 0 0 0 0 0

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 38 671 45 85 229 625 73 684 107 219
Heat 2 671 670 45 219 507 229 107 85 207 602
Final 671 219 85 349 626 670 684 648 229 45


Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 629 674 607 33 600 623 621 122 628 172
Heat 2 629 600 607 674 621 33 623 172 122 604
Final 674 629 623 600 172 628 122 33 688 0

1300 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 211 661 336 66 76 68 686 537 41 60
Heat 2 211 661 68 537 686 41 60 66 0 0
Final 661 211 336 41 68 686 537 73 60 0

Siamese Bangers

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
SC 288 291 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Heat 1 288 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Heat 2 288 281 291 0 0 0 0 0 0 0