Saturday 2016

There were spells of drizzle throughout the stock car meeting at the GMP Cowdenbeath Racewall on Saturday night causing some headaches to the drivers regarding tyre choice. There were quite a few drivers caught out on the greasy surface with Kyle Taylor being one with his car sliding into the wall and then getting hit by some of the cars that were in close order. However there were plenty of helpers in the pits and he was back out for the final.

Chris Burgoyne, fresh from clinching a front row start to the World Final, had a good night’s racing in the BriSCA formula IIs where he won the Chapman trophy final and then having to concede a lap handicap as a result went through to win the Grand National!

The closests of finishes came during the 2 litre National saloon Allcomers race when Paul Honeyman made contact with long time leader Jamie Connacher on the run up to the finish line. Connacher’s car began to spin and it did so across the finish line just as Honeyman crossed as well. 

Graeme Callender went on to win the National hot rod final in a canter whilst in the prostox Kyle Roy took his car to a heat and final win.

Amongst the formula II drivers in action were Kyle Taylor, Mark Dews, David Sinclair and Aaron Vaight.
The first race of the night was another in the white/yellow challenge series where Kieran Howie made light of the conditions before going through to win from Brian Hogg and Holly Glen.

When the first heat started Howie went straight into the lead but the race had to be suspended after Craig Reid spun on the back straight. The field lined up behind Howie who made a good start and seven laps later was still leading until Taylor spun and amongst those who bounced off his car were Sinclair, Howie and Dale Burt. Burgoyne was the new leader he reeled off the remaining laps to win from Robbie Dawson and Craig Wallace. Heat two saw Howie lead but Burgoyne was making rapid progress through the field only to end up bouncing off the wall and out of the race. Dawson then got the better of Adam Blacklock before going through to win from Blacklock and Dews.

Taylor was back out for the final which he led away but soon lost out to Paul Reid who had Blacklock in close order. However Blacklock was given a help going into the pit bend and crashed whilst a Burgoyne made short work of taking the lead. However when Colin Forbes crashed out on the back straight the race was suspended.
Burgoyne led the field away and he went on to win the Chapman trophy from Craig Wallace and Dawson.
There was race suspension in the Grand National which allowed Burgoyne to close up onto the back of the field and whilst Stevie Forster led he was caught during the closing stages by Burgoyne who completed the final/Grand National double. Forster held on to second with Wallace a close third.

There was another good turn out of saloons with David Hughes appearing with an ex-Eddie Darby car.
Although Jamie Connacher led the field away soon Barry Glen was ahead and pulling away. However he was to get caught up and spun out of the lead having Willie Mitchell the lead. Paul Honeyman closed in on Mitchell and over the closing laps the leaders were running nose to tail with Honeyman looking for a way through. On the last lap Honeyman made a challenge but despite going wide Mitchell held on to win with Ross Watters third. Connacher led the cars away when heat two started but behind Glen, James Letford and Ross Graham were squabbling over second but after all three went onto the top bend Glen’s car ended up spinning minus a wheel and suspension strut. The race was suspended and whilst Connacher led the field away Graham came through to win from P. Honeyman and Mitchell.

The final saw Connacher again get the race underway but soon lost out to Graeme Anderson. However Graham and Ross Watters were making inroads through the field and just as they caught up with the leader, Graham was shunted wide, hit the wall and retired. Watters was now ahead and he went through to win from Anderson and P. Honeyman.

Connacher was ahead in the Allcomers until the closing stages when he was caught by P. Honeyman but somehow managed to hold on. That is until the run up to the finish line when P. Honeyman sent him in to a spin and whilst he crossed the finish line in a cloud of smoke he and Honeyman were adjudged to have dead heated with Greg Honeyman third.

Amongst the hot rod drivers was Paul Cusack from Manchester. Heat one saw Billy Bonnar go through to win from Cusack and Ian Donaldson Heat two saw Cusack win from Donaldson and Steven Armit. Cusack led the cars away when the final started but Graeme Callender had made a good start and soon managed to dive through on the inside and into the lead. Cusack held onto second until the closing stages when he clipped the wall and had to retire. This left Armit in second with Jim Cowie third but they just couldn’t do anything about Callender who scored an easy win.

There was some close dicing amongst the prostox drivers although there weren’t too many cars about.
Paul Barron won the opening heat from Kyle Roy and Ricky White. Roy went on to win heat two where he led home Barron and White. Scott Wilson led the cars away when the final started but by half distance Roy was ahead and he romped away to an easy win over Barron and Wilson.


BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
W&Y 679 192 321 590 852 236 203 78 217 0
Heat 1 647 854 16 480 652 41 236 852 184 78
Heat 2 854 852 178 652 41 480 192 321 78 203
Final 647 16 854 480 652 17 41 178 236 852
GN 647 652 16 480 854 41 178 184 321 0

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 96 507 670 229 625 626 85 38 73 301
Heat 2 671 507 96 219 229 670 85 602 684 625
Final 670 229 507 207 96 625 57 602 684 301
AC 507602 0 207 219 670 96 684 229 0 0

National Hot Rods

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 844 7 700 94 5 308 36 871 648 0
Heat 2 7 700 94 5 308 871 36 648 0 0
Final 871 94 308 36 5 844 700 648 0 0


Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 755 27 146 760 170 638 0 0 0 0
Heat 2 27 755 146 170 760 754 638 0 0 0
Final 27 755 754 146 37 170 638 0 0 0