Saturday 2017

There was plenty of stock car action at the Cowdenbeath Racewall on Saturday night with the drivers revelling on a dry and fast track.

It was a good night to be a Burgoyne with Chris winning a heat and the formula II final, his son Lewis winning a heat in his microf2 whilst Chris’ brother Steven won all three ministox races. Chris Stewart brought his formula II down from Crimond only to spin during the opening heat and slide into the wall where he was collected by another car. Garry Sime debuted his new chassis with a startling colour scheme whilst Mark Somerville brought out the ex-Cranson chassis.

Having a busy night was Holly Glen who not only raced her formula II but also had a couple of races in her brother Barry’s saloon. There was some exciting racing in the microf2s with Lewis Clark Burgoyne and Jamie Dawson treating the fans to some close and fast racing.

There was another good turn out of formula IIs at the track with Chris Chance back up from the North of England, Dale Burt was having his first outing of the season whilst Robbie Dawson was back after missing a week
Heat one was suspended early on when Stewart spun and was collected by Ryan Farquhar with Burt clipping the cars and having to retire. Craig Reid led the cars away after the stoppage but was soon caught and passed by Chris Burgoyne. Although Burgoyne was first home he was penalised by the Steward and handing the win to Dennis Middler with Stevie Forster second and Burgoyne in third. Burgoyne went on to win heat two where he led home Middler and Robbie Dawson.

Burt led the cars away when the final started with Colin Forbes slotting in behind. Euan Millar was ahead on lap two but he had Farquhar running in close order. Burgoyne had quickly got ahead of Dawson and once he did so he set off after those ahead. Marc Fortune, who was leading, was running strongly but he lost the lead as Burgoyne dived ahead. Once in front Burgoyne reeled off the remaining laps for an easy win with Fortune taking second and Middler third. Fortune was first home in the Grand National but penalised by the Steward and in the end it was Dawson who was declared the winner from Burgoyne and Fortune.

James Letford and Stevie Honeyman were making their saloon debuts whilst Tom Yould was a surprise visitor from Spalding. The opening heat saw James Strath go through to win from Ross Watters and Marc Honeyman. In heat two Watters came through to win from David Hughes and Ian McLaughlin.

Callum McIvor got the final underway but had Tam Rutherford Jnr in close order and they built up a big lead over G. Honeyman and Yould. Strath was running in close order with Marc Honeyman and just ahead of McLaughlin, Watters, Strath and Kyle Irvine. G. Honeyman was reeling in the leaders and when he caught up with them Rutherford Jnr spun whilst McIvor went wide. G. Honeyman moved into the lead but he was soon sent wide as McLaughlin took over at the front of the pack. As Watters closed in he managed to get inside of the Honeyman car and into second but by that time McLaughlin had opened up a gap before going through to win from Watters and G. Honeyman.
Watters then won the Allcomers from Strath and McLaughlin.

The ministox drivers were racing for their Easter Trophy and there was a good turn out of cars. To date Steven Burgoyne is undefeated and there were plenty of drivers who were keen to stop his run. Mitch Gold crashed heavily in one of the races and required assistance out of his car with what appeared to be a foot injury. The opening heat saw Burgoyne go through to win from Luke McCallum and Sean Naismith. Heat two ended with Burgoyne pick up his second win of the night where he this time led home Naismith and Mika Millar The final, for the Easter trophy, saw Lauren Ford lead the field away but soon Millar and McCallum were the leading duo and racing hard Burgoyne was making steady progress through the field and with the laps dwindling moved into the lead and on to win from Millar and McCallum.

There was another healthy turn out of 1300saloons with Robbie Bruce making his debut Heat one ended with Ross Forrest picking up his first ever win and he led home Bruce and Fraser Anderson. For most of heat two Bruce and Forrest were the front runners and whilst Forrest did lead for a couple of laps, Anderson sneaked through to win from Grant McGowan with Bruce finishing in third but Forrest spun out.

Bruce led the final from start to finish to pick up his first win although Anderson and McGowan were closing in on him fast at the end. Joelan Maynard was back up from Stockport to race in the microf2s with 17 cars in action.
Heat one saw Callan Walker go through to win from Maynard and Ross McLaughlin. In heat two Lewis Clark Burgoyne had to be at his best to fend off the attentions of Jamie Dawson with Maynard third.

The final was stopped after Maynard and Charlie Burgoyne clashed on the back straight and after that it was down to a dice between Clark Burgoyne and Dawson. They picked their way through the back markers with relative ease but the cars were running in close order. Going into the last lap Dawson was still in contention running on the back bumper of Clark Burgoyne before he took to the outside line and just got the better drive to get to the line first although his winning margin was the thickness of a coat of paint with C. Walker in third.


BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 41 652 647 854 64 480 16 629 852 17
Heat 2 647 41 854 64 16 629 480 852 17 321
Final 647 64 41 854 16 652 480 629 852 419
GN 854 647 64 41 16 652 480 419 629 321

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 25 670 107 57 684 85 96 507 37 207
Heat 2 670 57 684 25 507 96 214 607 680 0
Final 684 670 207 107 37 507 85 57 214 680
AC 670 25 684 507 85 207 107 57 680 0


Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 674 687 100 126 650 601 623 622 621 188
Heat 2 674 100 621 687 622 650 601 688 607 682
Final 674 621 687 100 650 601 623 688 607 682

1300 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 400 336 661 211 157 66 60 686 0 0
Heat 2 661 211 336 668 41 537 60 157 686 0
Final 336 661 211 686 60 537 157 0 0 0

Micro F2s

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 233 51 828 165 854 50 5 818 17 858
Heat 2 647 165 51 233 50 151 17 828 854 5
Heat 3 336 661 211 686 60 537 157 0 0 0