Saturday 2017

The youngsters in the microf2s were in scintillating form at the Cowdenbeath Racewall on Saturday night and treated the fans to some explosive action. David Philp Jnr then Joelan Maynard rolled their cars although both were back out for their other races whilst there were three pile ups and a close bending to their third heat which went to Leon Muir who was having his last outing before retiring due to reaching the age limit.

In the ministox Steven Burgoyne successfully defended the RGM Thistle trophy but in one of the shunts in this race Luke McCallum required assistance out of his car and was then taken to the hospital for a precautionary check over.
The main protagonists in the 2 Litre National saloons were in good form and whilst they shared the heats, Ian McLaughlin went on to win the final.

Chris Burgoyne dominated the formula IIs with a hat trick of wins to set him up for the defense of his British Championship next week at Bristol. Robbie Burgoyne brought over his BMW drift car and treated the fans to some high speed cornering complete with plenty of blue smoke from his tyres. Amongst those in action in the formula IIs was Colin Stewart, who was down from Crimond and Gregor Turner, Dennis Middler and Gordon Moodie.
The first race of the night was a white/yellow challenge series race and whilst Stewart was the first to show he lost the lead to Turner on lap six. Turner reeled off the remaining laps to win from Kieran Howie and Stewart.
The first heat saw Chris Burgoyne catch and pass the long time leader Turner with a couple of laps remaining to pick up his first win of the night and he was followed home by Robbie Dawson and Craig Wallace. Heat two followed a similar pattern with Burgoyne going on to win from Gordon Moodie and Wallace. Stewart led the field away when the final started from Pete Davidson, who was running without his wing, but on lap three Turner was ahead although he had Stevie Forster in close order. After a couple of laps trying Forster finally found the line to dive inside of Turner to take the lead but no sooner had he got there that there was a race suspension after the Stewart car had shed a wheel. Forster led on the restart but Euan Millar was quick to retire whilst Howie was sent wide clipped the wall and had to retire. Burgoyne began to close in on Forster before sending him wide as he moved through into the lead. Forster then fell into the clutches of Wallace who sent him wide to claim second but by the time he got ahead of Forster, Burgoyne was well clear and through to his third win of the night. Forster then went on to win the Grand National from Wallace and Dawson with Burgoyne in sixth place.

Chris Carey made his long awaited return to the 2 litre National saloons but most eyes were centered on the dice between Watters and McLaughlin for the track points championship. Raymond Dick led the field away in the opening heat but in the end Watters made the better of the exchanges and he went on to win from Graeme Anderson and Alan Ainslie. In heat two McLaughlin made an early break from the field and steadily worked his way through the field before winning from Barry Glen and Kyle Irvine. There had been a shower prior to the start to the saloon final which made the track a bit slippery. Ainslie was the early leader and he soon had a useful lead until McLaughlin worked his way through into second spot. He soon began to reel in Ainslie to move ahead but Irvine was closing the gap and when the chequer dropped McLaughlin was the winner but Irvine was on his back bumper with Watters in third place.

There was a good turn out of minis where their main race of the night was the RGM Thistle trophy. After their parade lap the cars lined up and when the race started Hannah Borthwick was the first to show although by the end of the lap Jamie Stewart was the new leader. Declan Honeyman briefly led before Gary Paterson took over at the front of the field. However the race was suspended after cars tangled on the back straight with the field lining up behind Paterson. Once the track was cleared Paterson led the field away but the race was again suspended after McCallum was caught up in a shunt and required assistance out of his car. Teri Linden was now the leader and she led the field away with Steven Burgoyne in second and Paterson who had his hands full fending off Honeyman and most of the field. On lap nine Burgoyne moved ahead before going through to win from Paterson and Honeyman.
The first of the Allcomers races ended with Honeyman going through to win from Burgoyne and Paterson. Honeyman then made it two wins in a row when he won Allcomers two this time leading home Stewart and Burgoyne.

There were over 20 microf2 drivers at the track with the meeting being sponsored by Team Gemmell and at the end of the meeting all the drivers received a momento to mark the occasion. Their first race was won by Leon Muir but the race had to be suspended after David Philp Jnr bounced his car into the wall and rolled. Todd Anderson led the field away on the race restart but soon lost out to Muir who went on to win from T. Anderson and Jamie Dawson. Philp was back out for heat two but there was a shunt on the top bend which ended with Maynard rolling his car after four others had tangled. There was another stoppage a couple of laps later after Mark Arthur had to take avoiding action to miss another shunt and ended up hitting a marker tyre. Dawson went through to win from Aiden Grindey and Freya Lovett. The third heat had another shunt which stopped the race but this time it was Freya Lovett who did most of the leading only to get held up at the end when caught up with back markers. This allowed Muir to nip through to win from Lovett and Dawson.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
W&Y 391 679 191 217 922 321 0 0 0 0
Heat 1 647 854 16 391 652 41 629 7 17 191
Heat 2 647 7 16 652 41 391 852 854 629 679
Final 647 16 652 854 41 652 17 391 321 0
GN 652 16 854 391 41 647 852 629 191 0

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 670 229 777 684 207 38 107 45 73 241
Heat 2 684 38 85 670 229 507 777 207 73 107
Final 684 85 670 229 507 73 107 777 207 241


Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Final 674 622 607 100 199 621 623 546 629 126
Heat 1 607 674 622 601 100 199 604 546 621 126
Heat 2 607 188 674 622 601 546 100 629 126 621

Micro F2s

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 5 50 165 647 828 355 155 51 64 88
Heat 2 165 355 309 50 68 155 5 828 858 64
Heat 3 5 309 165 355 647 68 858 51 828 88