Saturday 2017

Ian Thompson looked to be on his way to a hat trick of formula II wins on Saturday night although to be fair he was under pressure from Craig Wallace. However they came upon a couple of white grade drivers running side by side and racing for a lower order position as they headed into the pit bend. The result was none of the cars managed to finish the race and it was third placed Dennis Middler who capitalised to win.

The ministox drivers turned up in their numbers for the Scruntineers trophy and there was some fast and exciting racing although Abbie McGuiness may not agree with her car ending up perched on the pit bend wall. Teri Linden hit a marker tyre hard as she tried to make up ground resulting in a retirement. Robert McDonald dominated the National Hot Rod World Championship qualifying round with a hat trick of wins. Kyle Irvine won the 2 Litre National saloon final whilst the microf2s were in terrific form as they entertained the fans although they found the going tough in their second heat after a short shower had made the track damp.

The latest formula II grading period had seen Ian Thompson move down from the red to the blue grade and he certainly made the best of it. Heat one saw Thompson go through to win from Craig Wallace and Dennis Middler. Thompson then made a good start when heat two got underway and was soon through into the lead. However this time Wallace was right on his back bumper as they crossed the finish line with Gregor Turner in third spot.
Jason Blacklock led the cars away when the final started and whilst it stated off quite quietly it certainly roared into life over the closing laps. Blacklock led with Thompson soon making his way through the lower grade drivers but not long after he took the lead Blair Anderson and Kieran Howie tangled going into the pit bend suspending the race as a result. Once the track was clear the cars lined up behind Thompson with Wallace now in third place. And whilst Thompson got away well he soon had Wallace right behind. Blacklock dropped a few places but up front Thompson was having to be at his best just to keep Wallace behind. Then on the last lap the leaders encountered a couple of white graders. Disaster for the leaders as Wallace ended up in the wall and Thompson was pushing a sideways Craig Reid up the straight. The crowd were on their feet as Dennis Middler capitalised on the situation to go through to win the Turner trophy final from Stevie Forster who pipped Garry Sime on the last lap to claim second place. Thompson was back out to win the Grand National from Wallace and Sime with Middler in eighth place.

Derek Russell was having a run in the 2 litre National saloon hire car and there were quite a few spins and shunts along the way. Heat one saw Ian McLaughlin go through to win from Luke Grief and Kyle Irvine whilst Robin Copland’s race came to an end against a marker tyre. Heat two saw Luke Grief pick up a win and he led home McLaughlin and Irvine. The final saw Euan Mathieson take the lead but when Ally Strachan was squeezed wide he crashed into a marker tyre and with his car stuck the race was suspended. Barry Glen had taken the lead shortly before this happened and whilst he led the field away Irvine was making good progress through the field and during the closing stages moved ahead. Once there he edged away to win the Turner trophy from Grief and McLaughlin.

James Strath was on hand to hand over a defibulator from various fund raisers to the Racewall paramedics in memory of his father Sandy who died recently.

There was minis galore at the track with no fewer than 7 cars from south of the border and as a result the field was split into three with the top 24 point scorers racing in the final. Local The opening heat saw Steven Burgoyne go through to win from Charlie Morphey and Sean Naismith. Taylor Borthwick then won the second heat from Naismith and Mitch Gold. Heat three saw Burgoyne pick up his second win of the night and he led home Aaron Totham
The final was suspended early on when newcomer Brandon Morton’s car shed a wheel. Whilst Kyle Roberts led on the restart he was soon moved over as Jamie Stewart took the lead but a couple of laps later Charlie Folan was ahead. However he was under pressure and it was Borthwick who moved ahead. Morphey had made up a lot of round and he then moved into the lead but he saw his lead disappear after McGuiness was sent up the pit bend wall in the company of David Shearing and a few others. Morphey’s lead had gone and on the restart he was under pressure from Naismith and Borthwick. Whilst Folan closed quickly on the leading group Naismith dived through into the lead and once there went on to win from Folan and Borthwick.

The National Hot rods were involved in a high speed World Championship qualifying round and on the grid were local drivers Robert McDonald won the opening heat from Ian Donaldson and Steven Armit and the result of heat two was identical. With McDonald and Donaldson sharing the front row of the grid it came as no surprise that McDonald beat Donaldson off the start line and it stayed in that order right to the close with only a cars length between them at the close with Ian McGuigan picking up third spot as they crossed the finish line.

There was another big turn out of microf2 drivers at the track with Robbie Scott having a run in the hire car.
Heat one saw Samuel Critchley go through to win from Rebecca Reid and Callan Walker. Reid then went on to win the second heat on a wet and slippery track which claimed a few of the youngsters but she didn’t put a foot wrong as she went on to win from Ethan Jack Gemmell and Kyle Rogerson. Reid then picked up her second win of the night when she scored a comfortable win over David Philp Jnr and Jamie Dawson.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 901 16 41 480 679 391 652 922 512 850
Heat 2 901 16 391 480 652 41 17 850 512 203
Final 41 652 480 512 17 391 629 321 901 203
GN 901 16 480 629 391 652 17 41 850 203

National Saloons

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 684 219 85 670 229 501 507 400 640 648
Heat 2 219 684 85 507 670 38 45 648 125 400
Final 85 219 684 670 38 229 45 400 648 2


Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 674 392 100 199 514 607 917 687 126 688
Heat 2 629 100 199 561 622 607 188 514 564 546
Heat 3 674 561 392 564 623 172 622 629 188 621
Final 100 546 629 607 199 674 392 172 621 917

National Hot Rods

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 117 700 94 77 871 330 36 0 0 0
Heat 2 117 700 94 36 77 330 871 0 0 0
Final 117 700 77 94 871 36 0 0 0 0

Micro F2s

Heat 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 64 17 233 88 828 647 68 299 253 858
Heat 2 17 253 88 64 151 828 533 165 225 484
Heat 3 17 299 65 88 239 647 253 68 484 64